Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My buns got huge but only spread out, not up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a stand by for us. Particulary good when toasted on the grill. I use real butter instead of margerine and shape the buns a little larger - otherwise I use the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Taste was great, used a little less sugar as another poster mentioned. I sprinkled some finely shredded cheddar on top of a few to see how that worked; worked just fine. The shaping of the dough was as refined as the photo, but I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Recipe is fine but following directions led to buns appropriate for White Castle burgers. I purposely made about half the number and they still came out small. I can't imagine making 25 buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is great. I made it first with all-purpose flour as in the original recipe. Next I used half white bread flour & half whole wheat flour. Here's my method for making it in my Cook's Essentials Bread Machine (I suppose it would be the same for most others): Instead of milk, put about 1 3/4 c cold water in measuring cup & heat in the microwave about 1 min. (Current wisdom says not to use water from the water heater internally.) Add about 1/4-1/2 c dry milk solids & cold water. (Adjust these to taste to make a total of 2 c liquid.) Pour this into bread machine pan. Put 1/4 c water & 1/4 c margarine into the same measuring cup. Heat this in the microwave until the oleo melts & add it to the liquid in the pan. Add the 1/4 c white sugar, a scant 2 t salt & 3 cups bread (or all-purpose) flour & 3 cups whole wheat flour. Put the bread machine pan into the bread machine, make a little well in the middle of the flour & add 3 teaspoons of dry machine yeast, being careful not to let the yeast touch the water before starting the machine. Set the machine for dough and walk away. When the dough has finished rising, take it out & pull pieces out*, shape into balls, & place onto jelly-roll pans or cookie sheets. Let rest a few minutes & flatten to about 1/2" thickness. Let rise 20 min., bake 15 min. near the top of oven (the bottoms burn in my oven if I put them lower) and voila! Delicious & beautiful hamburger buns!! *5oz pieces yielded 12 large buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I would like to apologize for those who can't help but be rude. I see nothing wrong with this recipe. If others are not getting good results from this recipe it might be because of altitude (yeast rising) also room temp. I would also like to add that if I'm in a good mood my food shows it. If I'm in a bad mood my food is not too good. My self I love to cook anything home made and thank you for sharing your recipe. Lee Hay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These tasted just fine and I thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
quick an tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Booth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Didn't rise well. Not that tasty. The people who gave 4-5 stars all seemed to modify the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made these EXACTLY as written and they turned out fantastic - but I think they could have used more liquid or less flour because they were a bit hard and didn't rise like the wonderful pictures others posted. Will definitely make again and adjust accordingly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States