Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I would like to apologize for those who can't help but be rude. I see nothing wrong with this recipe. If others are not getting good results from this recipe it might be because of altitude (yeast rising) also room temp. I would also like to add that if I'm in a good mood my food shows it. If I'm in a bad mood my food is not too good. My self I love to cook anything home made and thank you for sharing your recipe. Lee Hay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These tasted just fine and I thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
quick an tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Booth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Didn't rise well. Not that tasty. The people who gave 4-5 stars all seemed to modify the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made these EXACTLY as written and they turned out fantastic - but I think they could have used more liquid or less flour because they were a bit hard and didn't rise like the wonderful pictures others posted. Will definitely make again and adjust accordingly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
It was like biting into a sweet roll. Why would you use so much sugar? Way too yeasty tasting and mine did not raise as indicated and I had no oven spring to help out either. I'm a professional chef and I wouldn't recommend this recipe to anyone. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Amazing... these buns were so easy to make and they tasted soo good. Only diff is I made the buns bigger once they rose the first time.. which ended up perfect for hamburger bun size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I have always wanted to make my own buns, but I always waited until too late to get them going. These seemed easy & were ready very quickly. I made 2 batches with sesame seeds on top. In fact, I went to get my camera, when I returned they were mostly gone. Not enough for a Photo, anyway. They were a huge hit, I got credit for doing something spectacular, I didn't say how simple it really was. I am a master Baker, I always expect a good recipe to be difficult or at least a little time consuming... not. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boise Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These buns were pretty good, but not brilliant. They rose alright (I used fresh yeast and heated the milk to the right temperature), but I think I might have added too much flour as they came out very dry. I thought the dough needed more flour as it was (in my opinion) too sticky to knead or roll into balls. But maybe I was wrong.. I got 24 buns out of this recipe, but they were very small (despite rising), some too small to use for a normal-sized burger. After the rising, I brushed them with egg and sprinkled sesame seeds and brown flax seeds on top, which was a nice detail. I will make them again, and see if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laquey, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States