Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great Taste! and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyann1886

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waymart, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I found little slider patties, so I needed custom-sized buns. I followed the suggestions by faeriecat and the buns rose just fine in 20 minutes. I couldn't believe my luck, finding a bread recipe that takes less than an hour. I halved the recipe and got 16 slider buns out of it. These buns are quite tasty by themselves, especially fresh out of the oven, and would make great dinner rolls, and all in less than an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These are so much better than store bought buns! I did not have any white sugar (I only use Splenda and that doesn't make the yeast rise) so I used brown sugar in its place. Thanks for the recipe! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My buns got huge but only spread out, not up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a stand by for us. Particulary good when toasted on the grill. I use real butter instead of margerine and shape the buns a little larger - otherwise I use the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Taste was great, used a little less sugar as another poster mentioned. I sprinkled some finely shredded cheddar on top of a few to see how that worked; worked just fine. The shaping of the dough was as refined as the photo, but I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Recipe is fine but following directions led to buns appropriate for White Castle burgers. I purposely made about half the number and they still came out small. I can't imagine making 25 buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is great. I made it first with all-purpose flour as in the original recipe. Next I used half white bread flour & half whole wheat flour. Here's my method for making it in my Cook's Essentials Bread Machine (I suppose it would be the same for most others): Instead of milk, put about 1 3/4 c cold water in measuring cup & heat in the microwave about 1 min. (Current wisdom says not to use water from the water heater internally.) Add about 1/4-1/2 c dry milk solids & cold water. (Adjust these to taste to make a total of 2 c liquid.) Pour this into bread machine pan. Put 1/4 c water & 1/4 c margarine into the same measuring cup. Heat this in the microwave until the oleo melts & add it to the liquid in the pan. Add the 1/4 c white sugar, a scant 2 t salt & 3 cups bread (or all-purpose) flour & 3 cups whole wheat flour. Put the bread machine pan into the bread machine, make a little well in the middle of the flour & add 3 teaspoons of dry machine yeast, being careful not to let the yeast touch the water before starting the machine. Set the machine for dough and walk away. When the dough has finished rising, take it out & pull pieces out*, shape into balls, & place onto jelly-roll pans or cookie sheets. Let rest a few minutes & flatten to about 1/2" thickness. Let rise 20 min., bake 15 min. near the top of oven (the bottoms burn in my oven if I put them lower) and voila! Delicious & beautiful hamburger buns!! *5oz pieces yielded 12 large buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I would like to apologize for those who can't help but be rude. I see nothing wrong with this recipe. If others are not getting good results from this recipe it might be because of altitude (yeast rising) also room temp. I would also like to add that if I'm in a good mood my food shows it. If I'm in a bad mood my food is not too good. My self I love to cook anything home made and thank you for sharing your recipe. Lee Hay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These tasted just fine and I thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States