Hamantashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I grew up in a Jewish community and my 1st job was at a Jewish Bakery in NY. I loved everything in that bakery!! This is exactly like the Hamantashen that I grew up with!! It is wonderful and truly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is the first time I've ever had Hamantashen. I thought they were good. I used the poppy seed filling but I think the cookie part is a good base and you could use different kinds of fillings. My kids love poppy seed stuff in general but they thought this was a strange flavor. It may have been the vanilla or flavoring in the canned filling. Overall, I liked it and made it as part of my teaching the kids about the tradition of Purim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Oil is not the only thing you can use in place of butter or margarine to make the Hamantashen pareve (non-dairy). I bake numerous pareve desserts weekly, ranging from cakes to cookies to bars & I always use Nucoa margarine in place of traditional dairy butter or margarine. There are other brands of pareve margarine out there; I have found the Nucoa brand to be the best for baking. Everyone that eats my baked pareve items cannot believe that there is no dairy in them. I suggest that anyone who wants to make this recipe non-dairy try the Nucoa brand margarine, you won't be disappointed. I did add some fruit fillings & baked the Hamantashen in my convection oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes (rotating the cookie sheets at 5 minutes) & they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves 2 Cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These were very good. I did have to make 2 substitutions because I started the dough and then realized I was out of some items. I used milk in place of orange juice and almond extract instead of vanilla extract. The dough held the shape of the cookie very well. Non of my cookies leaked out jam like other recipies I have tried. Everyone at work said they tasted like bakery cookies (not really like Hamantashen from NY bakeries). They would probably be better with the orange juice(I will make sure I have it next time). My filling was raspberry and apricot jams. My favorite is the raspberry, but that is personal taste. Would definately make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
If you are looking for a recipe that make a decent pastry, then I think you may enjoy this version of hamantashen. However...I was expecting this to taste like the authentic hamantashen that I am used to, and was pretty dissappointed. I noticed where another person had suggesting using oil instead of butter and tried the recipe with that alteration, but the dough was still a bit too gooey and had trouble retaining the shape. After being baked, it seemed that the taste was softer or chewier than traditional hamantashen should be.. Again, this is a tasty cookie, but not is you are wanting to make “real” hamanstahen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
They was very good. I filled them with apple. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These turned out really well. I did make a few small adjustments; I reduced the butter to 1 cup, and increased the sugar to 1.5 cups. I used a variety of fillings including jam, poppy seeds and peanut butter with chocolate. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
DELICIOUS. I only refrigerated the dough for about two, two and a half hours and it worked out okay. I did have to bake them for about 12 minutes. i had a hamantashen-baking party and we used all different kinds of jelly and jam fillings. no poppyseed necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was the worst dough for Hamantashen I have ever tried. Not only was it difficult to work with it also didn't taste very good in the end. I followed the instructions to the letter and was very disappointed. A waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The reason these don't taste like a traditional Jewish bakery is the butter: a Kosher baker would use oil so that the hamentashen will be pareve. I've made these and the oil recipes; both taste great to me. However, for those of you needing a non-dairy hamentashen, go with the other hamentashen recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States