Hamantashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The reason these don't taste like a traditional Jewish bakery is the butter: a Kosher baker would use oil so that the hamentashen will be pareve. I've made these and the oil recipes; both taste great to me. However, for those of you needing a non-dairy hamentashen, go with the other hamentashen recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
While the cookie dough is indeed delicious, this is not like the bakery hamantashen here in the Northeast. It is basically a butter cookie with jam filling. I used only 3/4 cup sugar in the recipe and it was still too sweet. I also left out some of the butter and it was still too buttery!! I will alter this recipe or find another one to fit my tastes better. If you're used to a classic New York style hamantashen from a Jewish bakery, try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I made the dough the night before. My 10 year old rolled out the dough, used a glass to cut circles, filled with filling and pinched into triangles. It is important to put them in the freezer for at least 5 minutes before cooking them. The ones with cherry filling in my first batch came apart because I did not freeze them first. It was easy to eat them all at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNANB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Oil is not the only thing you can use in place of butter or margarine to make the Hamantashen pareve (non-dairy). I bake numerous pareve desserts weekly, ranging from cakes to cookies to bars & I always use Nucoa margarine in place of traditional dairy butter or margarine. There are other brands of pareve margarine out there; I have found the Nucoa brand to be the best for baking. Everyone that eats my baked pareve items cannot believe that there is no dairy in them. I suggest that anyone who wants to make this recipe non-dairy try the Nucoa brand margarine, you won't be disappointed. I did add some fruit fillings & baked the Hamantashen in my convection oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes (rotating the cookie sheets at 5 minutes) & they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves 2 Cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This recipe resulted in the best hamentashen that I have ever eaten. They are better than any bakery's. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Delicious!! The dough was a great pale yellow color and so tasty. I used raspberry jam, prune filling and blackberry jam. The pastries are still moist 3 days later. Everyone loved them. Next time, I would reduce the sugar a bit, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
GREAT RECIPE! More time was required for cooking (about 12 minutes total) as I took the prepared hamentashen out of the freezer only long enough for the oven to preheat. I would be interested to know how long the original submitter leaves them out of the freezer before cooking them. I also think I will cut them a bit bigger next time, just so I can fit more filling inside. I used cherry pie filling (our favorite) and they came out terrific. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
If you are looking for a recipe that make a decent pastry, then I think you may enjoy this version of hamantashen. However...I was expecting this to taste like the authentic hamantashen that I am used to, and was pretty dissappointed. I noticed where another person had suggesting using oil instead of butter and tried the recipe with that alteration, but the dough was still a bit too gooey and had trouble retaining the shape. After being baked, it seemed that the taste was softer or chewier than traditional hamantashen should be.. Again, this is a tasty cookie, but not is you are wanting to make “real” hamanstahen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I liked the dough and appreciated all the good recommendations and comments that helped make this recipe work. It is a very easy recipe - make sure you use a real filling and not jam/jelly for a substitute. Jam will reduce and even run out the sides leaving thin lining of filling. The time in the freezer is a must, even with special attention to pinching the sides into a triangle. You may still have ones that open up in the oven so don't get lazy or be in too much of a hurry. I also recommend brushing them with a beaten egg and then lightly sprinkling them with some ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I made the dough in the afternoon and last night made the hamantashen with my 7 year old. We used a 3" circumferance glass, lekvar and an apricot coconut filling. We did not freeze before baking and were very happy with the results for 12 minutes of baking. These were very delicious, more butter cookie than biscuit which is just the way I like it. Easy recipe to make, follow and worth the results. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States