Hamantashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have always been a bit nervous about making hamentaschen since I remember them being so difficult to make when I was a kid. This recipe was easy and delicious! I used real butter and just a touch more OJ. I put the dough in the fridge for about 8 hours. The dough was too hard to roll out, so I stuck it in the microwave for about 10 seconds, and it was very easy to work with. I didn't bother with freezing, just pinched really well and not a single one popped open. I cooked these a bit longer. Maybe about 11 minutes. They never got brown, but the consistency was just right. I'm bookmarking this recipe, and am so glad I no longer have to be disappointed by store bought or afraid to make my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I liked the dough and appreciated all the good recommendations and comments that helped make this recipe work. It is a very easy recipe - make sure you use a real filling and not jam/jelly for a substitute. Jam will reduce and even run out the sides leaving thin lining of filling. The time in the freezer is a must, even with special attention to pinching the sides into a triangle. You may still have ones that open up in the oven so don't get lazy or be in too much of a hurry. I also recommend brushing them with a beaten egg and then lightly sprinkling them with some ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I experimented a bit with cook time, and I completely agree that these taste best (and most authentic) when undercooked slightly. Of course cooking times will vary, but 9min worked for me. Be careful because even overcooking for 1-2min will leave you with a dry, crunchier cookie rather than a doughy treat. I used cherry pie filling -- delicious! I recommend a gooey textured filling because I filled a few with chocolate chips and it seemed too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Delicious Recipe, I adjusted based on the ingredients I had on hand. I had only one stick of butter so I used 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup shortening. I also threw a little honey in the wet ingredients and added the baking powder directly to my flour before I mixed. Because I used the shortening I found the dough easier to work with and while working with one batch I kept the extra dough in the fridge. Rolled between wax paper and baked on parchment. They came out light, delicious, perfect and were gobbled up quickly. Recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morganville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
WONDERFUL! Best Hamantashen I have ever made or eaten! I used butter. I also used the suggestion for putting them int he freezer - they came out absolutely beautiful! I made half with canned Solo apricot filling. The other half with homemade prune filling (cook on stovetop, 1 cup of chopped prunes, 1/3 cup water, 1 TBS lemon juice, ~2 TBS of honey - cook down until a paste consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
the only thing good about these was the filling! i worked in a bakery and have made hundreds perhaps thousands of hamentashen. these looked beautiful before they were baked...but they all opened up in the oven to look like oddly shaped blobs nothing resembling a triangle with a glob of jam in the middle. if they tasted good it would have made it a little better but me and my husband found them very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very dry and brittle. I was really disappointed given the other reviews this got. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Best Purim ever thanks to these cookies. I hadn't made these from scratch before and was very nervous, especially with my younger sisters helping me (Ages 4 & 5) but they were wonderful! The cookies tasted good enough to eat by them selves, and even when my siblings folded them wrong, the taste made them amazing. The only thing I did differently was you apple pie filling for them and it was great. It was like a mini apple pie with a cookie crust. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanukana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rockland, Maine, USA
Photo by Cordelia
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Everybody loved them. I like to use a variety of jams instead of just poppyseed filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cordelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This batter was great to work with IF you were sure to chill. 1/4" is way too thick. Taste was okay...the orange juice gave it a bit of a kick I wasn't too fond of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States