Hamantashen II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Amazing recipe, easy and fun to make cookies, for stuffing we used puppy seeds and apricot jam - everything came out perfect! I am saving this recipe as the cookies are def a hit! thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knatasha2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
just not my business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
These are truly delicious. I used jam fillings - pineapple and raspberry/strawberry. Definitely make sure you pinch the tops together, because I had one that wasn't well pinched de-triangle in the oven. I gave four out of five stars because I had some trouble with the dough splitting and flaking when I was shaping them, and the end product was a little flakier than I'm used to, but the taste is there and I don't know if that's my error or the recipe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Love this recipe! I only used 4 1/2 cups of flour and cut the filling down to 1 tsp. My family loved them and would be happy anytime I make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made the dough exactly as written in the recipe, and think it definitely suffers from too much flour. This is probably what caused other reviewers issues with the dough being crumbly and cracking, and also might be why the cookies flatten while they cook. I added a bit of water to the dough as I was rolling it out, but it was a pain to do. In the future I would probably try to cut the flour down to 5 cups and see if that works better. The dough is delicious though, and with a few modifications I bet these cookies would be spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The first time I made hamantashen with my children and I couldn't be happier with this recipe. I used apricot and strawberry preserves for filling and children and adults loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I refrigerated the dough overnight and I still had a really hard time rolling it out. It was crumbly and wouldn't stick together. Also, the pinches came undone and they ended up flat. I tried freezing them before cooking (a tip from another recipe) and also putting water and then egg wash between the pinches and they still didn't stick that great. Help! P.S. They were very yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were really good! Easy to make and tasty too. The filling I used was cherry preserves and I drizzled melted chocolate on top. People really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tami
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I was looking for a traditional hamentashen recipe and this was pretty close. the dough worked very well, and tasted very good . I did refrigerate it overnight which I think really helps , I dont think a few hours would do the trick. I filled mine with mini chocolate chips and strawberry jam . they were great! will make these again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I just made these and they came out great. The dough was very easy to work with, I needed very little flour when rolling it out. I cut the baking time to 15 minutes. I also used apricot, strawberry and raspberry jams instead of apple pie filling. Huge hit. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States