Ham with Redeye Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Wanted to try it because I'm from the North. Didn't think we'd like it, but dinner has been over for an hour and my husband is still raving about it. It's the perfect foil for ham. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I absolutely loved the flavor of the coffee with the ham. It turned out perfect for the 2 of us and the little bit of leftover ham was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Coffee and ham together are delish! I use a pat of butter instead of oil, and don't add any more salt if the ham is really salty. I serve this with grits and biscuits and scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I have to admit, I was leary about making this, since I don't like coffee. But wow, it is reallllly good. I took another reviewer's suggestion and used butter in place of the oil. It just sounded better. Hubby complimented me on this meal more than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
Great with grits and hot biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This is a great recipe. I never knew exactly how to make this because noone in my family ever used a recipe and now they rarely cook country ham. I did not add any salt due to the country ham I had being particularly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Note to those who want thick gravy...Find another recipe..This is exactly what redeye gravy is supposed to taste like..DO NOT add flour to thicken..this gravy is best served over grits or biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This authentic recipe is easy on the budget and the taste buds. I made the recipe exactly as directed except I substituted a non-stick pan for the cast iron pan because I no longer have one. It still came out delicious, not too salty melt-in-your-mouth ham steak & fixin's. Fixed it with biscuits and sweet potatoes with some sweet tea. This is my idea of Southern comfort food. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is great, but I usually use 6 tablespoons of salt and nineteen cups of coffee. Happy Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
had come across "red eye gravy" in liturature several time. looked it up. the husband loves it. we eat it with grits rather than biscuits. good either way just like the conbination of gits and the gravey better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States