Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was my first ever attempt at ham, and it came out amazing. My husband had his doubts when I wanted to cook Christmas dinner, and became nominated by my inlaws to do the ham from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eufaula, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This ham recipe is true a keeper. I used crushed pineapple and 1/4 cup of the pineapple juice. I think this is the reason why my glaze got thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I'm a bit late getting this review in, but it's worth writing! I (feistyfella's female half) made this glaze for Thanksgiving, and it was fantastic! This is the best ham glaze I've ever tasted! The only changes I made were to add a bit of fruit...actual crushed pineapple with the juice, plus I added about a cup of cranberries to make it a bit more holiday-ish. I also squeezed juice from an orange and let the pulp mix with the rest of the ingredients. (We love our fruit around here.) This will definitely become a regular for our holiday dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I've made this before but it came out fantastic this time. I had people tell me that this was the best ham they have ever tasted! I think it's because this time I basted it every half hour and covered the ham very lightly with foil so the top wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner. It was okay, but not "great". Like a lot of other reviewers, my glaze did not thicken up, but that turned out to be for the best. I think I could have used a lot less juice and it would have been better. If I make this again, I'll leave out the orange juice - it made the ham taste too "fruity" for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittneyT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I didn't like this glaze at all...it wasn't glaze so much as it was juice. I even added more brown sugar than it called for and it still didn't thicken. I took another reviewer's advice and let half of it cool while the ham was in the oven and used half right away and basted the ham with the cooled glaze about halfway through. Someone said it would thicken when cooled, but mine did not. The cloves were good but the glaze just wasn't thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. I made this for our Christmas dinner. I had never made a ham until yesterday and was nervous about it. My husband LOVED it and can't wait for me to make it again. We have leftovers and can't wait to eat them for lunch. EDIT: I tried this glaze with pork chops. I made the glaze and then cooked the porkchops with it in the oven. They were REALLY good!! I will def. be making the ham again and the pork chops again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by -CoastieWife-

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this ham yesterday for our Christmas dinner and it was unbelievably good. My glaze never thickened either but I just poured it over my 8.5lb ham and that was it because I totally forgot to baste it while cooking. It still tasted great. I also bought a can of sliced pineapples for the juice and pinned the pineapple slices on the ham with toothpicks, so I think that gave it extra flavor as well. We now have some leftovers for lunch and I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is very good as far as it goes. For a added treat add 1/2 Cup of whiskey to the mix. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States