Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this ham yesterday for our Christmas dinner and it was unbelievably good. My glaze never thickened either but I just poured it over my 8.5lb ham and that was it because I totally forgot to baste it while cooking. It still tasted great. I also bought a can of sliced pineapples for the juice and pinned the pineapple slices on the ham with toothpicks, so I think that gave it extra flavor as well. We now have some leftovers for lunch and I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is very good as far as it goes. For a added treat add 1/2 Cup of whiskey to the mix. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is very good. I wanted to thicken it up so I added some cornstarch as well. But then all of a sudden I had all these clumps so I strained those out and dumped everything in a bowl. Meanwhile I used toothpicks to attach pineapple rings to the outside of the ham. I also dotted with a few cloves. It actually worked perfect cooling in the bowl because the glaze was thicken than last time I made it. It turned out just perfect. I baste every 20 mins and take it out when it reaches 160 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I was nervous at first because I didn't think it smelled very good. Then I took a bite. This is amazing!! I have already had requests for it again. There was none left and my hubby was sad for no leftovers. I used crushed pineapple and orange juice, and probably more brown sugar than it called for. YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was so wonderful! My husband never gets excited about food but he went crazy over this. I didn't use the cloves and I used 1 large can of crushed pineapple in place of the pineapple juice. Since we have a small family I bought ham steaks instead of a whole ham and only baked it for about 30 min. By the looks of this dish people will think you spent a lot of time and effort on it when really it takes no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this at Thanksgiving and my entire family nearly ignored my turkey and ate almost every bite of the 7lb ham! My son called from N.C. begging me to make it at Christmas. The "sauce" in the bottom of the pan makes an excellent dipping sauce too-- it has a tangy, orange peel taste to it. This recipe is AMAZING in every way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
It was awsome! I will do it again on Xmas. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was similar to one I've used for years. If you want to change it up - just add in the saucepan juice from marrachino cherries along with some cherries and chunks of pineapple and serve in a dish with the meal. People love to drizzle it on their ham on their plate while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The sauce never thickened but we didn't mind. It was so tasty. Even better the next day. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very good for a simple recipe. My husband and kids absolutely loved it!!! I'll definitely make this next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States