Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Wonderful glaze - took me a lot longer than 10 minutes to thicken though. I added a little bit of marachino cherry juice to the mixture as well, then stuffed the ham with pineapple pieces and cherries before glazing. My husband says this is the best ham I've ever made. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My Glaze did not thicken on the stove. I will add flour next time. Also some extra tips; the first 30mins, make sure to based the ham a couple of times. I poured some of the the left over pineapple juice and some gingerale on top of the ham. I had a lot of excess juice on the bottom of the pan put it went great with the glaze. My ham was full of flavor and very juicy. Everyone raved how great it was. Let the ham stand 15 min prior to carving. For pre-cooked hams it is 15-19mins per pound. Also, they say to only glaze the ham 30mins prior to taking it out. My glaze was not thick so I occassionaly based the ham and then the last 30 placed it all on the top of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used regular oj from the bottle and didn't add the cloves (didn't have any on hand) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Zeta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I poured pepsi over the ham and basted it every half hour. I added a cup of bourbon to the glaze and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was good & easy. I simmered on the stove for a while & it didn't seem to thicken but after I pulled the ham out (basted numerous times in the oven) I put the sauce in a server & it was just the right thickness. I didn't use the cloves & only had OJ so I used about 1/3 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I didn't use any cloves, but used clove honey instead. Used 1/4 cup of OJ instead as well and then kept everything else the same. My glaze never thickened though and I had it on the stove for quite sometime. I ended up just pouring a very runny sauce on my ham and glazing every few mins. Baked for an hour and came out good. My picky bf loved it. He is usually doesnt eat the fat on any meat, but he said this was so good, he even started eating the fat on the ham. Simple ingredients, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I used this glazed for my ham and it came out GREAT! Even though I dont eat meat my fiance love it! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving this year and it turned out great. Everyone loved it. I used about a 6.5lb unsliced Smithfield ham, since I don't like pre-sliced hams. The night before I wanted to bake this, I made the glaze. The only difference I made was to only use 1/2c brown sugar (it was still plenty sweet) and to add some ground cloves to the glaze. I let it come to a boil, then let it cool completely. It didn't really thicken very much, but it did taste great. The next day, I dressed the ham with maraschino cherries and pineapple slices and poured the glaze over everything. Baked for about 1 1/2 hours. Turned out perfect. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My husband's favorite!!!!!! This is one we've made over and over, super simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theycallmeoldfashioned

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
was best ham i ever tasted added 1/4 tbs cherry juice and a 1/2 mango juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States