Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was similar to one I've used for years. If you want to change it up - just add in the saucepan juice from marrachino cherries along with some cherries and chunks of pineapple and serve in a dish with the meal. People love to drizzle it on their ham on their plate while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The sauce never thickened but we didn't mind. It was so tasty. Even better the next day. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very good for a simple recipe. My husband and kids absolutely loved it!!! I'll definitely make this next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used this glaze just as suggested and it came out perfect! This is my first time cooking a ham and it was so easy. This ham won't be around for too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was my first time making a ham for thanksgiving. We had 3 hams at the party and mine was the party favorite! Since I am an inexperienced cook I thought when I first made the glaze that it wasn't thick enough. So I did not use the oranges and let the glaze cool off after heating. Then I used a large oven bag to put a 17 pound spiraled ham in and let the ham marinate over night in the glaze. I did save the left over glaze. Then I poured additional glaze on the ham and heated for the time specified. It browned very nicely! Since I had heated it too early in the day, I had to reheat it in the oven again and I drizzled on more glaze. Everyone was raving about a ham and I thought they were talking about someone else's, but it was mine! People went out of their way to let me know they are hard to please with ham and I made the best ham they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is a ham recipe my family has used for three generations. We actually use mustard with the brown sugar rather than honey, but either way is superb! We always do the maraschino cherries in the middle of the pineapple slices and it makes a beautiful presentation. This is just one of those recipes that is worth passing on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
wow wow wow. I just made this and it is amazing! It is the first roast ham i have ever cooked and only my second roast dinner and it was fantastic! i did my roast potatoes in the same tray as well so they were all sticky and sweet too! Gorgeous recipe, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I was born and raised in the US, moved to australia last year and their hams dont come with those little packs of honey glaze like they do in the states... so christmas came and i had to improvise.. THANK GOD for allrecipes.com and this awesome recipe.... i used this glaze on my christmas ham, my husbands extremely picky brother liked it.. i used it on my easter dinner ham and we had guests over for dinner that night, they had never had glazed ham and they absolutely loved it.. the wife took the recipe home with her. i used the recipe again tonight except i didnt have pineapple juice this time so i just made it as i normally do minus pineapple juice.. it came out just as good as it does with the pineapple juice... excellent glaze... i dont think i will even ever go back to the powder stuff that comes with the hams when i move back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
i have made ham glaze many times but this recipe tops them all. I was using a ham slice as i just cook for two so i halved the recipe,(could have quartered it) used 1/4 teas. ground cloves in the glaze instead of whole cloves and i cooked the ham in a baking dish for about an hour. Served with scallopped potatoes and fresh green beans for a delicious sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Delicious ham! It was quite a process for me (because there were no precooked hams at my grocery store), but it turned out great in the end & I actually think it worked out best that way...here's what I did: I got a 5 lb. sliced (uncooked) ham, so I needed it to be 'precooked' to make this, so...I baked it at 350 for about 3 hours (until the internal temp. was 160). But, before I cooked it, I injected the ham w/ 1 can of Sprite (using my meat injector). I do this w/ all hams & it really helps keep it moist & sweet. Okay, now to cook it here's what I suggest: Line a cookie sheet (one w/ a lip around the edge) with foil then spray the foil w/ cooking spray. Place a cooling rack (the kind you cool cookies on) on top of the cookie sheet, and place the ham on the rack. The cooling rack allows for the juice to drain into the pan & prevents the ham from getting soggy/burnt on the bottom. Now, make a sort of tent over your ham w/ aluminum foil (but try not to have the foil touch the ham if at all possible, if it does it could possibly pull off the yummy outer crust). This 'tent' will help keep the ham from drying out in the oven. Now that my ham was all cooked and 'Sprited-up' I put it in the fridge to make the next night...now I followed this recipe (with my precooked ham...yeah!) I followed the recipe exactly except I used bottled orange juice (1/2 cup because that equals approx. the same as 2 juiced oranges). My sauce never really thickened, but I just injected & poured the juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States