Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Really, Really Good recipe. This was the first time I ever cooked ham. This glaze was so easy and very yummy! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
i used a 8.5 lb in bone spiral ham for this. the only thing that i changed was i put in a half cup more of brown sugar and only used one squeezed orange (which i squeezed on after. i didnt add it to the glaze). i let the glaze sit after i cooked it for about 20-25min. it was as thick as honey! i used half of it and glazed the ham including between the slices. i than covered it with the pinapples and cherries. after that i put the rest of the glaze on it. i left it over night like that in the fridge covered. next day i cooked it for two hours on 300. first hour i cooked it covered in tin foil and the last hour i uncovered it. there were juices on the bottom i periodically (when uncovered) would use and baste it. im a vegetarian so i didnt eat it BUT it smelled awesome looked awesome and there was barley any left! my husband LOVED it! THANK YOU i will be using this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone just raved about it. I like to stick whole cloves in the ham for added flavor. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbhs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
really good but I did add cinnamon, clove and nutmeg to the mix for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This will be my go to recipe for ham from now on. I used a 10-lb spiral-cut ham from Costco. Added the cloves to glaze mixture to simmer. Poured the glaze on ham using small cup making sure the glaze got between the slices. Placed ham in cooking bag and cooked according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this spiral ham for Christmas using a 10 lb. ham. I doubled the glaze although I found out afterward I really didn't need to. I'm sure the glaze as is would have been fabulous but I had to modify it due to ingredients on hand. I put my pineapple slices and cherries on the ham then poured some of the glaze over all before covering tightly with foil and baking at 250 degrees for 2 hours. I then raised the oven temperature to 425 and added more glaze and put the ham back in the oven uncovered for another 10 minutes. It came out moist and delicious. Best tasting ham I've ever made. Note: These are the changes I made in the glaze (which did not thicken like a regular glaze). I used 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves along with the pineapple juice, brown sugar and honey. Instead of juiced oranges, I used 1/2 cup full pulp orange juice (which may have been a little too much...I'll try 1/3 cup next time). Since I still had leftover glaze in my saucepan even after serving it with the sliced ham, I've used the rest as a sweetner for my hot tea and stir it with a cinnamon stick. It makes a great spiced tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Schwegman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
delicious! i basted the ham with this every 10 minutes of the cooking time like you would with a turkey and it came out moist and delicious. one of the people at my party that dislikes ham decided to try it because it looked so good, and ended up loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I used this glaze recipe on shaved Black Forest ham with crushed pineapple. Used that on top of a grilled burger on a whole grain bun. Lots of compliments from the 7ppl that enjoyed them...Will def use again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmtmtmfl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of ham but I thought I'd give this a try. It seemed simple to make, however, the final product fell short of was I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccergirl37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States