Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
fabulous glaze. the ham tasted great and everyone raved about it. i brushed some melted butter over the ham and cooked uncovered for the last 10-15 minutes. very juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lindsy
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I have made this ham 2 times and I will again on Easter. It is absolutely wonderful. My favorite type of ham to use is a Sugardale spiral sliced ham. Best flavor and always super tender and moist. I read most of the reviews and I see that everyone seems to be having the same problem. No ones glaze seems to thicken. I have always made more glaze than called for. I use about half when I first put the ham in the oven. I put the rest in a large pyrex measuring cup and allow to cool on the counter while the ham cooks. It DOES thicken as it sits and cools. And it WILL glaze the ham if you just continue to baste it about every 20-30 minutes. But overall it is an amazing recipe and I had never made a ham before in my life and my first one was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was sooo good. The only thing I didn't do was put the cloves in there because of my families personal taste. Will be adding this to my list of "Use OVER AND OVER" recipes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Mader Wisniewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I felt this was alright. I would cut down on the amount of cloves in this as I thought they overpowered the taste of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMAMAMIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Really good. Just took a while to cook and I only had a three pound ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is great. I made it for Christmas and my family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
A very good recipe..I used crushed pineapples along with the juice to make the glaze. It also made the ham look very nice after it is cooked. The glaze didn't get thick but I basted it often and the ham was very moist. I also added about 1/2 tsp. ground cloves to the glaze. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josieluvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newfield, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was a good recipe. My boyfriend is allergic to fruit so I did not add the pineapples and cherries. I put a bag of baby carrots in the bottom of my roasting pan and they were so sweet and tender. I also covered my ham for the first hour of cooking, then uncovered for the second hour and it was very moist. I had an eleven pound, bone in, fully cooked ham. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is the first time that I have ever had to cook for the holidays. I made this ham and the crowd was very pleased. I took the advice of an earlier reviewer and let the ham soak in the glaze overnight and also put in less juice than asked for. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I fixed this on Thanksgiving to go along with our turkey. It was ok. My guests enjoyed it more than I did. The sauce never thickened, so there was not a good, "glazy" coating on the ham. I let the ham marinade in the sauce overnight, so the flavor had plenty of time to settle in, but the flavor wasn't very bold. I also basted it while it cooked. Next time, I'll double everything but the juice, and see if that thickens it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States