Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
A very good recipe..I used crushed pineapples along with the juice to make the glaze. It also made the ham look very nice after it is cooked. The glaze didn't get thick but I basted it often and the ham was very moist. I also added about 1/2 tsp. ground cloves to the glaze. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newfield, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was a good recipe. My boyfriend is allergic to fruit so I did not add the pineapples and cherries. I put a bag of baby carrots in the bottom of my roasting pan and they were so sweet and tender. I also covered my ham for the first hour of cooking, then uncovered for the second hour and it was very moist. I had an eleven pound, bone in, fully cooked ham. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is the first time that I have ever had to cook for the holidays. I made this ham and the crowd was very pleased. I took the advice of an earlier reviewer and let the ham soak in the glaze overnight and also put in less juice than asked for. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I fixed this on Thanksgiving to go along with our turkey. It was ok. My guests enjoyed it more than I did. The sauce never thickened, so there was not a good, "glazy" coating on the ham. I let the ham marinade in the sauce overnight, so the flavor had plenty of time to settle in, but the flavor wasn't very bold. I also basted it while it cooked. Next time, I'll double everything but the juice, and see if that thickens it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I was out of honey so I substituted 1/2c maple syrup, I used ground cloves and a splash of regular OJ. It liquefied in the bottom of the pan, but it did leave a glaze on top of the ham and it left the ham moist & tasty from sitting in the juices. My picky 2yr old ate 2 slices! I'll try it again & next time use honey, but it turned out fine this way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cridersville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
It turned out great it was fast and easy to do and i could find all the ingredients with no problem. My whole ham was gone that day everyone loved it i will make again. My glaze never thickened too maybe next time i will see what went wrong but other then that it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
The glaze was really sweet, but good. I could only find a 6.5 lbs ham. It was definitely not as hot as I wanted after about 1hr 10min. But I didn't expect it too. Add more time for larger hams. I followed the glaze recipe very precisely but it never "thickened". It was pretty decent overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Really made a nice 'crust' on our ham, and it was very moist. I used ground cloves and a tablespoon of dijon mustard. Let everything reduce down and then basted the ham on low temp for a couple of hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This recipe is great. It made a nice tender, juicy ham with just the right touch of sweetness. My family LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent!!! The glaze was fantastic! Many of our guests used it to top there potatoes and rolls too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States