Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Delicious ham! It was quite a process for me (because there were no precooked hams at my grocery store), but it turned out great in the end & I actually think it worked out best that way...here's what I did: I got a 5 lb. sliced (uncooked) ham, so I needed it to be 'precooked' to make this, so...I baked it at 350 for about 3 hours (until the internal temp. was 160). But, before I cooked it, I injected the ham w/ 1 can of Sprite (using my meat injector). I do this w/ all hams & it really helps keep it moist & sweet. Okay, now to cook it here's what I suggest: Line a cookie sheet (one w/ a lip around the edge) with foil then spray the foil w/ cooking spray. Place a cooling rack (the kind you cool cookies on) on top of the cookie sheet, and place the ham on the rack. The cooling rack allows for the juice to drain into the pan & prevents the ham from getting soggy/burnt on the bottom. Now, make a sort of tent over your ham w/ aluminum foil (but try not to have the foil touch the ham if at all possible, if it does it could possibly pull off the yummy outer crust). This 'tent' will help keep the ham from drying out in the oven. Now that my ham was all cooked and 'Sprited-up' I put it in the fridge to make the next night...now I followed this recipe (with my precooked ham...yeah!) I followed the recipe exactly except I used bottled orange juice (1/2 cup because that equals approx. the same as 2 juiced oranges). My sauce never really thickened, but I just injected & poured the juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I had a 2 lb. turkey ham and wanted a good glaze. this was AMAZING, my husband loved it and he is very hard to please. He said he wouldnt mind eating this all week. Fresh pineapple was on sale so i took a couple of cut up pieces and put them in the blender, everythign else i kept the same i wanted to make sure to have enough glaze. best glaze ever, i was amazed it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this for Easter for our family of four. It was easy to prepare and the presentation was very pretty! Everyone loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaMN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I made this glaze for my easter ham and everyone raved about the ham. It was the best ham I have ever eaten. I did the recipe alittle different. I followed the cooking instructions on the ham. I remomved the ham 20 min, before cooking time was over and placed the glaze. When I removed the ham from the roast dish and placed it into the plater, I pour all of the dripping over the ham and in beteen the slices. DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I fixed this for Easter dinner and my hubby said this was the best ham he has ever tasted. I sliced my ham about 30 minutes before it was done and stuck it back in the oven to bake in the juices. It turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this recipe for Easter dinner and everyone raved about it. I used a 12 lb. spiral sliced ham and made 1 1/2 times the glaze recipe. The additional 1/2 wasn't necessary. I did keep about 1/3 back to baste the ham as it cooked. I used the new glaze the first two times that I basted, then used the drippings the rest of the time. I basted about every 20 minutes. My boyfriend and I do not usually like ham, but this was, in my boyfriends words "the very best ham" we had ever tasted! I also used about 15 pineapple slices and marachino cherries. Beautiful presentation. The kids loved eating the baked fruit (I didn't expect that). I will use this recipe every time! Very easy, simple ingredients. The glaze did not set up for me, but that didn't matter. Because I used a spiral ham, the flavor went throughout the ham. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
fabulous glaze. the ham tasted great and everyone raved about it. i brushed some melted butter over the ham and cooked uncovered for the last 10-15 minutes. very juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lindsy
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I have made this ham 2 times and I will again on Easter. It is absolutely wonderful. My favorite type of ham to use is a Sugardale spiral sliced ham. Best flavor and always super tender and moist. I read most of the reviews and I see that everyone seems to be having the same problem. No ones glaze seems to thicken. I have always made more glaze than called for. I use about half when I first put the ham in the oven. I put the rest in a large pyrex measuring cup and allow to cool on the counter while the ham cooks. It DOES thicken as it sits and cools. And it WILL glaze the ham if you just continue to baste it about every 20-30 minutes. But overall it is an amazing recipe and I had never made a ham before in my life and my first one was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was sooo good. The only thing I didn't do was put the cloves in there because of my families personal taste. Will be adding this to my list of "Use OVER AND OVER" recipes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Mader Wisniewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I felt this was alright. I would cut down on the amount of cloves in this as I thought they overpowered the taste of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMAMAMIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States