Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I fixed this for Easter dinner and my hubby said this was the best ham he has ever tasted. I sliced my ham about 30 minutes before it was done and stuck it back in the oven to bake in the juices. It turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this recipe for Easter dinner and everyone raved about it. I used a 12 lb. spiral sliced ham and made 1 1/2 times the glaze recipe. The additional 1/2 wasn't necessary. I did keep about 1/3 back to baste the ham as it cooked. I used the new glaze the first two times that I basted, then used the drippings the rest of the time. I basted about every 20 minutes. My boyfriend and I do not usually like ham, but this was, in my boyfriends words "the very best ham" we had ever tasted! I also used about 15 pineapple slices and marachino cherries. Beautiful presentation. The kids loved eating the baked fruit (I didn't expect that). I will use this recipe every time! Very easy, simple ingredients. The glaze did not set up for me, but that didn't matter. Because I used a spiral ham, the flavor went throughout the ham. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
fabulous glaze. the ham tasted great and everyone raved about it. i brushed some melted butter over the ham and cooked uncovered for the last 10-15 minutes. very juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lindsy
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I have made this ham 2 times and I will again on Easter. It is absolutely wonderful. My favorite type of ham to use is a Sugardale spiral sliced ham. Best flavor and always super tender and moist. I read most of the reviews and I see that everyone seems to be having the same problem. No ones glaze seems to thicken. I have always made more glaze than called for. I use about half when I first put the ham in the oven. I put the rest in a large pyrex measuring cup and allow to cool on the counter while the ham cooks. It DOES thicken as it sits and cools. And it WILL glaze the ham if you just continue to baste it about every 20-30 minutes. But overall it is an amazing recipe and I had never made a ham before in my life and my first one was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was sooo good. The only thing I didn't do was put the cloves in there because of my families personal taste. Will be adding this to my list of "Use OVER AND OVER" recipes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYSAN01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I felt this was alright. I would cut down on the amount of cloves in this as I thought they overpowered the taste of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMAMAMIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Really good. Just took a while to cook and I only had a three pound ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is great. I made it for Christmas and my family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culiacan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
A very good recipe..I used crushed pineapples along with the juice to make the glaze. It also made the ham look very nice after it is cooked. The glaze didn't get thick but I basted it often and the ham was very moist. I also added about 1/2 tsp. ground cloves to the glaze. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newfield, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was a good recipe. My boyfriend is allergic to fruit so I did not add the pineapples and cherries. I put a bag of baby carrots in the bottom of my roasting pan and they were so sweet and tender. I also covered my ham for the first hour of cooking, then uncovered for the second hour and it was very moist. I had an eleven pound, bone in, fully cooked ham. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States