Ham with Honey and Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is very good. I wanted to thicken it up so I added some cornstarch as well. But then all of a sudden I had all these clumps so I strained those out and dumped everything in a bowl. Meanwhile I used toothpicks to attach pineapple rings to the outside of the ham. I also dotted with a few cloves. It actually worked perfect cooling in the bowl because the glaze was thicken than last time I made it. It turned out just perfect. I baste every 20 mins and take it out when it reaches 160 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I was nervous at first because I didn't think it smelled very good. Then I took a bite. This is amazing!! I have already had requests for it again. There was none left and my hubby was sad for no leftovers. I used crushed pineapple and orange juice, and probably more brown sugar than it called for. YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was so wonderful! My husband never gets excited about food but he went crazy over this. I didn't use the cloves and I used 1 large can of crushed pineapple in place of the pineapple juice. Since we have a small family I bought ham steaks instead of a whole ham and only baked it for about 30 min. By the looks of this dish people will think you spent a lot of time and effort on it when really it takes no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I made this at Thanksgiving and my entire family nearly ignored my turkey and ate almost every bite of the 7lb ham! My son called from N.C. begging me to make it at Christmas. The "sauce" in the bottom of the pan makes an excellent dipping sauce too-- it has a tangy, orange peel taste to it. This recipe is AMAZING in every way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
It was awsome! I will do it again on Xmas. Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was similar to one I've used for years. If you want to change it up - just add in the saucepan juice from marrachino cherries along with some cherries and chunks of pineapple and serve in a dish with the meal. People love to drizzle it on their ham on their plate while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
The sauce never thickened but we didn't mind. It was so tasty. Even better the next day. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very good for a simple recipe. My husband and kids absolutely loved it!!! I'll definitely make this next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used this glaze just as suggested and it came out perfect! This is my first time cooking a ham and it was so easy. This ham won't be around for too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was my first time making a ham for thanksgiving. We had 3 hams at the party and mine was the party favorite! Since I am an inexperienced cook I thought when I first made the glaze that it wasn't thick enough. So I did not use the oranges and let the glaze cool off after heating. Then I used a large oven bag to put a 17 pound spiraled ham in and let the ham marinate over night in the glaze. I did save the left over glaze. Then I poured additional glaze on the ham and heated for the time specified. It browned very nicely! Since I had heated it too early in the day, I had to reheat it in the oven again and I drizzled on more glaze. Everyone was raving about a ham and I thought they were talking about someone else's, but it was mine! People went out of their way to let me know they are hard to please with ham and I made the best ham they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States