Ham and Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is easy and delicious.... and is good reheated if you have leftovers, too. I halved the recipe (there are only two of us) and used a red pepper instead of green. I also added 1 cup of green beens, upped the curry powder (we like spice) and used lower fat mushroom soup and no-fat ham. It lowers the calories, fat and cholesterol count considerably without compromising taste. I also found one teaspoon of oil sufficient for frying the veggies. A great way to use leftover wild and white rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Way too salty for my taste--maybe if low sodium cream of mushroom soup was used it would be better. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical, mostly because the last ham and wild rice casserole we tried was mostly mayonnaise and tasted like it. But, this casserole turned out excellent. We added extra curry and ate it with raisins and peanuts for a middle-eastern flair. The flavor combination was very good and we liked having lots of vegetables. We were worried that the soy sauce would make it too salty, but no problem there! Thanks for a delicious and (fairly) healthy ham casserole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I was looking for something other than potatoes to mix with my leftover ham. This was super!!! Took one reviewer's idea and made with white sauce (with cayenne and nutmeg) instead of the soup. I'm not a fan of mushrooms and I didn't see any lack in flavor. I thought this had a ton of it! Wild rice alone adds a lot. Wouldn't change anything other than what I've noted. Have added to my recipe box and will make anytime I have leftover ham. Thanks ALN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was absolutely wonderful! I used a home made white sauce instead of condensed soup and served with peanuts and raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was the perfect recipe base for today; I found this recipe while I was looking for a use for all of our leftovers. I made lots of substitutions since I used what was on hand including Cream of Celery soup and Mape Burbon ham smoked on the Big Green Egg. Like another reviewer, I used red bell peppers. The carrots I had on hand were sliced, dill carrots grilled with coconut oil. The next time I make this, I am going to follow the recipe. This recipe is a keeper - substitutions or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was good, but I agree with another reviewer who said it was a lot of work (and ingredients) for something that tasted like Cream of Mushroom soup! I did love the chopped veggies, so I don't consider that too complicated, but adding the soy sauce, wine, curry powder and mustard didn't seem to do much for the flavor, so just extra steps and cost. And I actually didn't read carefully enough and only used ONE can of soup... I can't imagine if I had used two!! Not sure if it would be too dry if those ingredients just got omitted, but if I make this again, I'd probably just skip from step #3 to #5 and add a cup of water in #6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I halved the recipe except for the ham & veggies, used brown rice instead of wild and halved the cooking time by microwaving the rice & veggies. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA BAKER
Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I believe this came out like it was supposed to. A lot of steps for a recipe that tastes like anything else you put Cream of MR soup in. I made my own curry but it still needed more spice. Baked right at 30 minutes and went over well with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States