Ham and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I added what I had in the fridge but this recipe is a great base. I also put it in a crockpot to let the vegis soften a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Delicious!!! Try using fresh ingredients and making the beans rather than canned, less sodium. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAGS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pillager, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Super yummy..didn't saute the onions, but put it all together in a big pot and added black pepper, garlic salt, and rosemary...GREAT taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was really delicious! A quick and easy way to use up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBSOJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Delicious and very easy. I didn't use cabbage and added a tsp flour, extra can of beans and a little pasta because I like bean soup thick. Am guessing the cabbage would have accomplished that, but I didn't have any. Ditalini or shells are good choices - just a small amount, because they soak up a lot of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dan D.
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Super easy and great! Followed almost exactly as written. I ended up dividing my chicken broth (2 cups low sodium + 2 cups regular) to get the salt level right and threw a diced carrot in there because I do that with pretty much all of my family meals. Served to my wife and daughter after the came home from sledding. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I just made this today. Only I did change some things because I am always using the things I have on hand that I can from my products. I used pork broth (2 pints) and pepper ham hocks and 1 pint of home made salsa, and dried beans. I also added 2 tbsp. cornstarch mixed with a little cold water to thicken it. When DH likes it it has stood the ultimate test. Excellent with homemade biscuits (just because I didn't make cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Wow, is this hitting the spot right now. Take that, polar vortex. Very good recipe. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Really easy to put together and the flavor is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Only thing I did differently was add finely chopped red pepper (only half) and 3 more cups of water along with the broth. Otherwise same portions and it was yummy! I also did add spice/hot sauce because I love spicy soups!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States