Ham and White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This one is a goodie!!! I made a batch of fresh pinto beans, in place of the canned and used the pinto bean broth instead of the chicken broth. I substituted white rice in place of the potatoes and I added a few stalks of carrots. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I added the extra can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Only thing I did differently was add finely chopped red pepper (only half) and 3 more cups of water along with the broth. Otherwise same portions and it was yummy! I also did add spice/hot sauce because I love spicy soups!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Really easy to put together and the flavor is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Wow, is this hitting the spot right now. Take that, polar vortex. Very good recipe. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I just made this today. Only I did change some things because I am always using the things I have on hand that I can from my products. I used pork broth (2 pints) and pepper ham hocks and 1 pint of home made salsa, and dried beans. I also added 2 tbsp. cornstarch mixed with a little cold water to thicken it. When DH likes it it has stood the ultimate test. Excellent with homemade biscuits (just because I didn't make cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dan D.
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Super easy and great! Followed almost exactly as written. I ended up dividing my chicken broth (2 cups low sodium + 2 cups regular) to get the salt level right and threw a diced carrot in there because I do that with pretty much all of my family meals. Served to my wife and daughter after the came home from sledding. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Delicious and very easy. I didn't use cabbage and added a tsp flour, extra can of beans and a little pasta because I like bean soup thick. Am guessing the cabbage would have accomplished that, but I didn't have any. Ditalini or shells are good choices - just a small amount, because they soak up a lot of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was really delicious! A quick and easy way to use up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBSOJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Super yummy..didn't saute the onions, but put it all together in a big pot and added black pepper, garlic salt, and rosemary...GREAT taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States