Ham and Swiss Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Very good and a great recipe for left over ham. I added broccoli to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lostindustrial
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I added my photo to the group of photos for this dish. Followed the recipe almost to the letter, except I used 6 oz of frozen mushrooms instead of canned. I do think it's a bit weird that they want you to put the Swiss cheese into the skillet to warm with everything else. I think it's best if you only do that VERY briefly just to bring everything together, otherwise you will end up with a stringy mess in your skillet. It came out a bit thin in the 3 quart casserole. I don't see why you couldn't use a 2 quart. It would just be thicker. The noodles made a nice crunchy sort of texture after being baked, and the egg/milk mixture is a good binder. You could probably also add other leftover veggies and it would still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostindustrial

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was a hit with the family. I did leave out the eggs and used 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 cup milk instead of the 2 eggs and milk. It was very moist and the flavors were great!! Even a hit with my teenage son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Just made this recipe (doubled) and it's a keeper (all of us to include hubby and 3 teenagers). I added fresh chopped garlic and used fresh baby bella mushrooms (10oz container). I saute'd the garlic, onion and mushrooms in butter. I completed omitted the salt because I add salt when cooking the pasta and because the leftover ham I was using up was a MASH's ham and it was salty. I also added a 16oz bag of frozen peas. I didn't have milk and used 1/4 cup of half and half and about a 1/2 cup of leftover sour cream. I didn't have the scrambled egg effect and like another reader I attribute that to having the ingredients cooled before I poured the liquid on top. This literally made 2 casseroles dishes worth! I covered each casseroled with foil to avoid possible drying out as some readers experienced and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe is great. Instead of egg/milk mixture, I added 1 can of condensed cream of mushroom 10.5 ounce soup,reduced sodium version. I added 3/4 cup of whole milk to the soup mix. Added a small jar of already cooked mushrooms, added extra cup of swiss, and extra parm cheese on top, It came out creamy and wonderful. Will make again and again!!! FYI- omitt the salt, there is enough in the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
this one is a bit tough for me to rate because there are the 2 versions of it...as written and with my changes. I think I will give it 3 starts because that is "as written" which is a good base to start from BUT....comes out really dry as other posters noted. With some tweaks it was a hit. My changes.....2 minor ones were use half the salt (with the cheeses and the ham it has plenty of salt already/did not need that much salt) and doubled the parmesan cheese. The big change was with the sauce. That was a big change....1/2 cup of milkl hardly makes any sauce at all. I made a white sauce: 2 TB of butter, 2 Tb of flour/make a roux and add swiss and parm cheeses. Remove from heat and cool a bit/add the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
We love this recipe as is minus the mushrooms, but it is heavy on the oil, so I normally cut the oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very nice. To accommodate my onion-loathing husband, I omitted that. I used 1/2 pound fresh sliced mushrooms instead of canned mushrooms, sautéing them in butter instead of oil until the liquid evaporated and the mushrooms were starting to brown. I also added about a teaspoon of dill weed. I mixed everything except the Parmesan in the noodle pot, then turned into ungreased baking dish and topped with Parmesan. I think if one substituted parboiled spuds for the noodles, this would make a tasty brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I really enjoyed this casserole, even though I accidently over-noodled it, LOL...I added two cans of cream of mushroom soup and almost a cup of milk...I also added peas for some color...the only thing I would change next time is maybe adding the soup mixture into the noodle mixture instead of just putting it on top...just so the noodles wouldn't be so dry...but all in all very good....LOVED the Swiss!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncsKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States