Ham and Swiss Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very flavorful! I added broccolli and fresh mushrooms and topped with breadcrumbs too. The husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was very good; my entire family loved it. I used 1.5 cups, instead of 1 cup each, of both cheese and ham; I like more. Plus, I added and extra 1/2 cup of milk and 1 can of 98% Fat Free Cream of Mushroom soup to the mixture. My parents are picky and even commented on how tasty this was. I have already made this twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very good after making a few adjustments! The only ingredients I changed was I substituted half the swiss for sharp cheddar because my son isn't crazy about swiss, I used cream of mushroom in place of the mushrooms, and I added about a cup of sweet corn. Also, I modified the directions slightly where I added the ham to the onions which I sauteed until they started to brown, and then I added the cream of mushroom to 'deglaze' the bottom of the pan and get all of those tasty brown bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I love ham and swiss cheese and casseroles so I thought this would be a winner. It was not. It was ok but I probably won't make it again. It wasn't awful, it just wasn't worth the ingredients. I followed it pretty closely. I make a similar ham and potato casserole with cheese using whatever cheese I happen to have on hand - usually cheddar or swiss as we don't care for "process American cheese" - tastes like plastic. Anyway, I'll stick to that from now on. If I could have given this a 2 1/2 stars that's what I'd have done so I'm being generous with 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I pretty much followed the instructions on this one although I did amp up the portions to make it serve more. I increased the milk, added a can of cream of mushroom soup in place of the mushrooms, and also added peas. The best suggestion I could make is to cover the casserole w/ aluminum foil because the top of mine was a little dried out when I took it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I added some sour cream; also some red/green chopped peppers, and also let the mix cool down before adding the egg and milk. This isn't a bad base for something, but on its own...it's not very flavorful at all. My husband said, "You don't have to make that again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Made this dish and turned out so good!! My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
VERY VERY DRY plan i even put lots of salt and garlic and it was still bad would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very easy and tasty! I sauteed the ham until brown and sauteed fresh mushrooms with the onions, so the whole dish was very moist and juicy. We all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was pretty good! I added an extra 1/4 cup of milk since so many people said it was dry. I also substituted peas for the mushrooms due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States