Ham and Split Pea Soup Recipe - A Great Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Used left over Christmas ham and it was awesome! I used no fat reduced sodium chicken broth so I used all broth instead of broth + water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I'd give this soup 100 stars if I could!! I found Chef John's recipe on Foodwishes.com and made it at least 5 times now. Even when I double the recipe it doesn't hang around long enough for me to get my fill and I crave it until I make more. Works well either on the stove top as stated, or in the crock pot (do step one as stated, then throw it all in the crock pot on low for about 8 hours). Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pawprints
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Made this as a favor for a friend and he gave me a high compliment by saying it was exactly like his mother used to make and she is now deceased. He was so happy to enjoy it again and ate 2 big bowlfuls. I also shared with other friends and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this soup. The only change I made was to use low sodium chicken broth. It turned out perfectly. My Family loves it too. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Just like a can soup make sure to use low sodium broth and used just broth no water. Nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawkesbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Amazing, I've never made split pea soup. I added a little veg oil instead of butter. I did cook the diced onions and diced celery until it was translucent. I did add green onions as well. Then added left over ham from Thanksgiving from Logan Farms and also the Sausage from Bone Daddy's. I stirred for a few. Then added the split peas stirred it infor a couple of minutes before I added the Chicken Stock. I covered all with the chicken stock. Then a pinch of salt and pepper. Boiled it for 45 min. Stirred it continusly. Then lowered temp to simmer the rest for an hour and 15mins. My husband couldnt get enough of it. Its was incredidble. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
declared delicious and the best pea soup i have made. added two carrots and more broth to thin soup before serving. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I needed to cook it for a hour & 30min. Thats the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I am an absolute (note ABSOLUTE) beginner when it comes to making soups, however I am a very practised taster of them. This recipe was so easy to follow and what's more, tasted DELICIOUS. Boyfriend is happy, I'm happy, I'm recommending it to my friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States