Ham and Split Pea Soup Recipe - A Great Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Try this with the addition of Masoor Dal (red, split lentils). The lentils tend to disintegrate and give the soup a thickness that's quite appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Amazing, I've never made split pea soup. I added a little veg oil instead of butter. I did cook the diced onions and diced celery until it was translucent. I did add green onions as well. Then added left over ham from Thanksgiving from Logan Farms and also the Sausage from Bone Daddy's. I stirred for a few. Then added the split peas stirred it infor a couple of minutes before I added the Chicken Stock. I covered all with the chicken stock. Then a pinch of salt and pepper. Boiled it for 45 min. Stirred it continusly. Then lowered temp to simmer the rest for an hour and 15mins. My husband couldnt get enough of it. Its was incredidble. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I'd give this soup 100 stars if I could!! I found Chef John's recipe on Foodwishes.com and made it at least 5 times now. Even when I double the recipe it doesn't hang around long enough for me to get my fill and I crave it until I make more. Works well either on the stove top as stated, or in the crock pot (do step one as stated, then throw it all in the crock pot on low for about 8 hours). Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
declared delicious and the best pea soup i have made. added two carrots and more broth to thin soup before serving. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Marskell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
A Keeper! I enjoy split pea soup very much. I thought this was the best I've ever had. My wife who is not a soup fan at all (any kind of soup) found this delicious. The flavors really were as Chef John described, the smokey salty ham flavor married with the slightly sweat pea flavor. I guess the key is the "sweating" of the onions, garlic and celery in the butter, because I've made split pea soup many times and its never tasted nearly this good. I made a few minor alterations because of what I had on hand and because of what I needed to use up. I don't think these added or subtracted from the basic recipe, I'm just listing them here fwiw: (1) I used 48 oz turkey stock (instead of chicken stock.) and about 8 oz of water. (2) Added 2 small russett potatoes diced small (left skin on) and (3) about 8 baby carrots sliced about 1/8 inch. I placed it all in the slow cooker (added the butter, onions, garlic, celery after "sweating" them on the stove in a pan) and 10 hours later, the most delicious split pea soup I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
pretty bland. Needed to cook much longer than 1 hour 15 minutes for peas to be fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Used left over Christmas ham and it was awesome! I used no fat reduced sodium chicken broth so I used all broth instead of broth + water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Sinnock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
DELISH!! I have been making Pea Soup the same way for over 20 years and I have never ever "sweat" the onion, celery and garlic prior to adding the ingredients in the order of this recipe and I believe that THIS IS KEY to an AMAZING HAM & SPLIT PEA SOUP! I did a few things my old way such as simmered my ham bone for about an hour prior to starting the recipe. I removed ham off of bone and used all the leftover ham that I had sliced from the previous "baked ham" dinner. Instead of using chicken stock and water, I used the stock from the ham bone. I added everything in the same order as Chef John, let simmer for a few hours and then added approx. 5 peeled, cubed potatos and 6 cut up carrots to the soup and let simmer another one to two hours longer. I did simmer my soup on stovetop throughout the day for many hours (definitely stirring occasionaly). My family from ages 9 - 55 LOVED LOVED this soup. My husband stated that this was the ABSOLUTE BEST SPLIT PEA & HAM SOUP I have ever made. Thank you for the added tips and directions on adding ingredients in a "different way"! WOW, who would have known that it would make such A MAJOR DIFFERENCE!! I can't wait to go home after work to eat some more of this GREAT SOUP! BTW, I always double my recipe for my BIG EATIN FAMILY!! I did save some of my ham stock to add to the "thickened" soup if needed. My family LOVES my cooking, but stated that "my" recipes have become even GREATER since I found CHEF JOHN. LOVE YOU XOXOXOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Just made this for dinner, and it's a keeper (literally, too - it made a whole lot of soup! More than the 8 serving stated). I followed the recipe almost exactly, only changing up 2 things. I added 4 cooked and chopped slices of bacon that I had leftover from breaky, and I seasoned with a couple pinches of cumin because I think it adds a little something different. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States