Ham and Split Pea Soup Recipe - A Great Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great and simple recipe. Delicious! The cooking time was a bit too long and almost burned. Likely though dependant on the type of stove you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This was a great soup! We make lots of soups for our "soupy Sunday's", this one wins the prize. Only thing we did different was add bacon, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Make sure you remove the bay leaf! I prefer not to put garlic in pea soup, but that is just me. I used a sweet Maui onion, it was about a cup and pretty chopped, I don't want chunks of onion taste in my soup. I put the ham in the last 5 minutes so it would be juicy; ham is already "cooked". I used homemade ham broth with all the fat skimmed off, so depended on that to give the rich flavor of ham for the soup. Last half hour I added heirloom carrots from Trader Joe's, tested for salt, since there is already so much with ham and broth, did not need to add any. When serving, I added 1/2 teaspoon of Toasted Sesame Oil to each bowl, this makes an absolutely incredible bowl of soup for dunking toasted bread. I put Bragg's Amino Acid bottle at table for those looking for more salt without the sodium in their individual bowl. TIME NOTE: When cooking, I brought to a boil, then simmered on low, with lid; my soup was ready in 45 minutes. I would suggest making ahead of time in case your soup takes longer, depends on the type of pea and the type of broth vs. water for how long it will take, and some like it mushy too (like me). Even better the next day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
wow this is really good just added crushed red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Oh, yum! I made this mostly as written until the end when I decided on the spur of the moment to add diced baby carrots & potatoes as some reviewers suggested & then - just to get rid of them - i threw in half a package of frozen peas & carrots. I had a ham bone from Christmas with a ton of ham on it & I used that broth instead of chicken stock. I like cumin but would have never thought to use it but I'm glad I did! I loved the flavor of it in this soup! My DH was impressed as well so I know I will make this again & again! It's a very forgiving recipe. I'm thinking of adding roasted corn the next time. Served with homemade cornbread for a hearty meal on this cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Made this yesterday with Christmas leftover ham. The only change I made was I used carrots instead of celery. I served it to some guests last night (against my husbands recommendations, he thought no one would like it)-they loved it! Some even went back for seconds! I loved it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by familychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Delicious soup, easy too! I did use 2 sliced carrots instead of celery(they add color & I'm not wild about celery)and I used the whole onion not just 1/2 as recipe says. A great dinner on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
By far the best split pea soup I've ever had! I used left over Thanksgiving ham for this, and did not include the celery as I am not a fan. When the soup cools, it becomes like mashed potatoes, so adding a bit of water when reheating is a must, but does not take away from the delicious flavor. I will be making this recipe many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Split peas needed to be cooked much longer to get mushy. maybe they should have been soaked overnight. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Delicious, easy, and enjoyed by all. I went exactly by the directions, but added one diced carrot. I thought that was essential. Also, I'm a garlic lover, but I thought the flavor the three sliced cloves added didn't work, especially the next day when I had the soup as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn & Steve

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States