Ham and Shell Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was super simple and the flavors get better the longer it sits. I personally thought it needed a little more lemon juice to help phase out the mayo flavor but like I said it got better if you let the flavors mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a nice base. I didn't have any peas so I used green onions for color and added chopped hard boiled egg.I didn't measure any ingredients but I know I used a ton more mayo than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was very good! I stirred together the dressing first and then added the ham, cheese, and veggies. I used an entire 12 oz. package of peas and 2TB onion. I left all other measurements the same. I rinsed my pasta with cold water and added it last, but I think next time I'll add them first to make sure they get good and coated with the dressing. I may add 50% more dressing, but it really was wonderful as is written. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is a great basic pasta salad! Although, I did omit the oil and lemon juice. I also did not add salt as there would be plenty of salt from the ham. Other than that, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is terrific!! I substituted a shallot for the onion, olivie oil instead of vegetable, and used two ham steaks cut into tiny pieces. I also omitted the salt. I did have to add a little more mayo, but it is one of the best recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I used macaroni, 2 tbs. ranch dressing, and equal parts olive oil mayo and reduced fat sour cream and omitted the oil for the sauce base for this recipe. I did NOT add SALT because the HAM has plenty. I substituted white pepper and a dash of cayenne for the black pepper. YUM! It's dishes like this that I end up eating most of and NOT taking for a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I ground the ham in my food processor, and added more mayo. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynwbonner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Rociada, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Everyone in my family enjoyed this recipe. The second time I made it with ring pasta, and we liked that even better than the shells. I used shredded cheese for the convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
this is so yummy!!! i used leftover ham from easter and olive oil. those were the only changes i made. i do think it was a little dry though. i am enjoying this for my lunch right now!! thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States