Ham and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
As another reviewer stated I precooked the potatoes to soften them up a bit and used about 5 small to medium potatoes and 1 large onion. My husband went back for seconds and took some to work the next day. I have a picky 3 year old that devoured her entire plate with no complaints. This was a very good recipe. I really enjoyed the sour cream, cream of mushroom, and cream cheese sauce. Although my husband suggested that the crackers weren't really necessary and I couldn't really taste them in the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Rhodes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
What a great recipe. I did make a few changes to accomidated my family. I omitted the green pepper and broccoli. I then increased the mushrooms to 16 oz and added 8 to 10 oz of fresh spinach. I also sautéed all the veggies except the spinach. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was a very yummy dish. The pan size is correct if you dice all veggies finely. Use 5 small to medium size potatoes. Be sure to precook your potatoes before putting the whole mixture in the oven. I used an 8oz bag of cheese [6oz in the mixture and 2oz on top]. I did not use the crackers. I also used a cream of mushroom w/garlic (made by cambells) and chive cream cheese. It gave the Casserole just a little more flavor without over powering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
SIMPLIFY! I used a 28 oz. bag of potatoes O'brien to replace the first 3 ingredients and saved the time and energy of prep. I "nuked" the potatoes on defrost setting to thaw them. Didn't have broccoli..or cream of mushroom soup. Omitted broccoli and replaced soup with a can of condensed Cheddar Cheese soup. It came out amazing! AND it fit perfectly into the 9x13 casserole! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for and it turned out delicious! Pan size will be an issue if your potatoes are too large. I made this recipe my own and left out veggies I did not want and added more of another I liked. I precooked the potatoes but not the veggies - I prefer my veggies firm. I put part of the shredded cheese in the sauce mixture and part of it I sprinkled on top of the cracker crumbs - helped cracker crumbs not to burn and toasted the cheese nicely. This is a great basic recipe that you can change to your own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildBranch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe except for the crumbs on top, instead I put shredded cheese on top. Also I only used 3 potatoes and 1 big sweet potato, that gave it color and flavor. We all loved it!! Even my 3 yr old ate it. The prep time took me about 30-35 minutes which i thought was longer than expected. This is a great veggie casserole and I'll be making it again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I took the advice of Leslie and used a 28 oz. bag of potatoes O'Brien to replace the first 3 ingredients. I didn't add mushrooms,celery or broccoli, but used cream of broccoli soup. Instead of cracker crumbs, I used French Fried Onions. Was delicious. My only change the next time would be to bake the potatoes a 1/2 hour or so before adding everything else to soften them up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great comfort food. Used 8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good!! I was a little concerned that the potatoes weren't gonna cook through, so I looked at some of the other reviews and my thoughts were shared. I did a little pre-cook, so the potatoes were about half way done. I added some fresh parsley and that was it. It was very yummy!! My daughter, the comfort food queen, absolutely loved it!! It's a great go-to meal when I'm crunched for time or need a warm bowl full o' yummy on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by JonR
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Didn't have mushrooms or brocolli or five potatoes. Used 20 oz frozen spinach (chopped in two directions after thawing - and saved the juice to thin out the cream cheese / sour cream / soup mixture which I heated a bit while mixing), 25 oz of diced cooked ham (responding to a comment that finding the ham was challenging), four medium potatoes, and 3/4 cup of crushed buttery round crackers. Cooked this for 55 minutes @ 350 then upped the temp to 360 for another 15 minutes, then added the crackers for another 10 minutes. The potatoes were still a bit crunchy, but overall the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States