Ham and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
As another reviewer stated I precooked the potatoes to soften them up a bit and used about 5 small to medium potatoes and 1 large onion. My husband went back for seconds and took some to work the next day. I have a picky 3 year old that devoured her entire plate with no complaints. This was a very good recipe. I really enjoyed the sour cream, cream of mushroom, and cream cheese sauce. Although my husband suggested that the crackers weren't really necessary and I couldn't really taste them in the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Okay...ladies and gents....1st things 1st. 9x13 baking dish it tooo small for this recipe, I used 11x14. And 1/2 of crushed crackers...doesn't cut it either. To cover evenly and nicely 1 & 1/2 package sleeves is what I had to use. Now that I have that out of the way. The recipe was nice. Not bad, the family thought it was good. I saw that it was rather watery when serving out portions. Possibly because I prepared everything the night before and placed in the frig until ready to bake. I felt the recipe could have used more ham with all the vegetables because the ham gets totally lost. Like playing hide and go seek, basically. And because I prepared the night before, the baking time was not right, the dish ended up being in the oven for 55-65 minutes because the potatoes were very hard before I could top with the crackers. Sooo you really need to watch this closely if you choose to do the same as I did in the preparations. As a whole, the recipe was fine. It's a comfort dish, not a wow dish for me. But it was tasty. TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I followed the recipe fairly closely except for the cream of mushroom soup, which I had to make from scratch instead of using the condensed from a can, and the mushrooms which should have been fresh, but I had to use a can of mushrooms. The recipe states to use 5 potatoes without mentioning what size, and one onion without saying large onion or small. If I had used large potatoes then the casserole would never have fit into the baking dish. The recipe would be easier to follow if the size of the potatoes had been given. Overall, the flavor was very good, but next time I will pre-cook the potatoes as they were still very crunchy even after more than an hour of baking. Other than that, I don't think I would make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I substituted Split Pea Soup instead of Cream of Mushroom, and the flavor is still good, but this recipe takes longer than 35 minutes for the vegetables to soften. After 45 minutes it was barely hot and the potatos were still crunchy so I tried covering the cassarole to help it get hot, but after all this time, I've waited too long to eat so I ended up having a sandwich instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
When I first cooked it, I substituted orange and red bell peppers as I'm not fond of green and added garlic as that wasn't on the list of ingredients. I used fresh broccoli and used thick-sliced crimini mushrooms. I used black forest ham. Even with that, the recipe was overwhelmingly bland. I mean - you have white spuds, white soup, white cream cheese, white monterey jack and white sour cream. It was not only bland, but boring to look at. So, I took the leftovers and added a lot more in the way of bell peppers - got the mini red/orange/yellow ones, threw in more sauteed onion and garlic and a bunch more ham. Didn't feel like making white sauce like bechamel for moisture so i used a jar of alfredo sauce I had on hand. The reprise of this was SO much better and got far more enthusiastic reviews from my family and friends. So, if you want yours to be tasty, kick it up a notch. Food should be appealing to look at as well as flavorful and the original recipe was simply disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Great comfort food. Used 8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
What a great recipe. I did make a few changes to accomidated my family. I omitted the green pepper and broccoli. I then increased the mushrooms to 16 oz and added 8 to 10 oz of fresh spinach. I also sautéed all the veggies except the spinach. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coug Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Followed the recipe as is. Gave 4 stars because it wasn't anything that anyone would be begging for, but it was a good way to use up left over ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tinalouise04
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This dish was really great! Everyone in my house loved it. I omitted the mushrooms & crackers on top but next time I would put them in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good!! I was a little concerned that the potatoes weren't gonna cook through, so I looked at some of the other reviews and my thoughts were shared. I did a little pre-cook, so the potatoes were about half way done. I added some fresh parsley and that was it. It was very yummy!! My daughter, the comfort food queen, absolutely loved it!! It's a great go-to meal when I'm crunched for time or need a warm bowl full o' yummy on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States