Ham and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I followed the recipe fairly closely except for the cream of mushroom soup, which I had to make from scratch instead of using the condensed from a can, and the mushrooms which should have been fresh, but I had to use a can of mushrooms. The recipe states to use 5 potatoes without mentioning what size, and one onion without saying large onion or small. If I had used large potatoes then the casserole would never have fit into the baking dish. The recipe would be easier to follow if the size of the potatoes had been given. Overall, the flavor was very good, but next time I will pre-cook the potatoes as they were still very crunchy even after more than an hour of baking. Other than that, I don't think I would make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
As another reviewer stated I precooked the potatoes to soften them up a bit and used about 5 small to medium potatoes and 1 large onion. My husband went back for seconds and took some to work the next day. I have a picky 3 year old that devoured her entire plate with no complaints. This was a very good recipe. I really enjoyed the sour cream, cream of mushroom, and cream cheese sauce. Although my husband suggested that the crackers weren't really necessary and I couldn't really taste them in the final dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Okay...ladies and gents....1st things 1st. 9x13 baking dish it tooo small for this recipe, I used 11x14. And 1/2 of crushed crackers...doesn't cut it either. To cover evenly and nicely 1 & 1/2 package sleeves is what I had to use. Now that I have that out of the way. The recipe was nice. Not bad, the family thought it was good. I saw that it was rather watery when serving out portions. Possibly because I prepared everything the night before and placed in the frig until ready to bake. I felt the recipe could have used more ham with all the vegetables because the ham gets totally lost. Like playing hide and go seek, basically. And because I prepared the night before, the baking time was not right, the dish ended up being in the oven for 55-65 minutes because the potatoes were very hard before I could top with the crackers. Sooo you really need to watch this closely if you choose to do the same as I did in the preparations. As a whole, the recipe was fine. It's a comfort dish, not a wow dish for me. But it was tasty. TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was a very yummy dish. The pan size is correct if you dice all veggies finely. Use 5 small to medium size potatoes. Be sure to precook your potatoes before putting the whole mixture in the oven. I used an 8oz bag of cheese [6oz in the mixture and 2oz on top]. I did not use the crackers. I also used a cream of mushroom w/garlic (made by cambells) and chive cream cheese. It gave the Casserole just a little more flavor without over powering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I substituted Split Pea Soup instead of Cream of Mushroom, and the flavor is still good, but this recipe takes longer than 35 minutes for the vegetables to soften. After 45 minutes it was barely hot and the potatos were still crunchy so I tried covering the cassarole to help it get hot, but after all this time, I've waited too long to eat so I ended up having a sandwich instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
SIMPLIFY! I used a 28 oz. bag of potatoes O'brien to replace the first 3 ingredients and saved the time and energy of prep. I "nuked" the potatoes on defrost setting to thaw them. Didn't have broccoli..or cream of mushroom soup. Omitted broccoli and replaced soup with a can of condensed Cheddar Cheese soup. It came out amazing! AND it fit perfectly into the 9x13 casserole! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe except for the crumbs on top, instead I put shredded cheese on top. Also I only used 3 potatoes and 1 big sweet potato, that gave it color and flavor. We all loved it!! Even my 3 yr old ate it. The prep time took me about 30-35 minutes which i thought was longer than expected. This is a great veggie casserole and I'll be making it again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for and it turned out delicious! Pan size will be an issue if your potatoes are too large. I made this recipe my own and left out veggies I did not want and added more of another I liked. I precooked the potatoes but not the veggies - I prefer my veggies firm. I put part of the shredded cheese in the sauce mixture and part of it I sprinkled on top of the cracker crumbs - helped cracker crumbs not to burn and toasted the cheese nicely. This is a great basic recipe that you can change to your own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildBranch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I took the advice of Leslie and used a 28 oz. bag of potatoes O'Brien to replace the first 3 ingredients. I didn't add mushrooms,celery or broccoli, but used cream of broccoli soup. Instead of cracker crumbs, I used French Fried Onions. Was delicious. My only change the next time would be to bake the potatoes a 1/2 hour or so before adding everything else to soften them up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
When I first cooked it, I substituted orange and red bell peppers as I'm not fond of green and added garlic as that wasn't on the list of ingredients. I used fresh broccoli and used thick-sliced crimini mushrooms. I used black forest ham. Even with that, the recipe was overwhelmingly bland. I mean - you have white spuds, white soup, white cream cheese, white monterey jack and white sour cream. It was not only bland, but boring to look at. So, I took the leftovers and added a lot more in the way of bell peppers - got the mini red/orange/yellow ones, threw in more sauteed onion and garlic and a bunch more ham. Didn't feel like making white sauce like bechamel for moisture so i used a jar of alfredo sauce I had on hand. The reprise of this was SO much better and got far more enthusiastic reviews from my family and friends. So, if you want yours to be tasty, kick it up a notch. Food should be appealing to look at as well as flavorful and the original recipe was simply disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States