Ham and Pineapple Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
Great total meal with meat vegetable fruit and grain all in one Very nutritious Greatt for hot summer days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This was different. The onions were overpowering, so I recommend using less than called for unless you love onions. Kids didn't like it. My husband said it was fine and liked the dressing. I'm afraid it's not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This is delicious. Great alternative to a sandwich for lunch. The amount of mustard is not indicated. I used about 1/3 cup. I also added a bit of orange juice to make it a little less dry and some green pepper just because I'm a recipe rebel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Very delicious recipe - but I agree that the onion is too overpowering. I bought the smallest red onion I could find, and used half, and that was still too much. I suggest maybe 1/4 small red onion. Otherwise, very easy and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Very eash and good! I like onion but too much will give me heartburn. So I added maybe 1/4 c. of chopped onion. I didn't have left over ham (I don't cook hams), so I got a slab of black forest ham from the deli when it was on sale. Only suggestion, maybe a little more dressing. I used 2 T. of Dijon. Good summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This is great, but the 4 serving size with 1 cup of couscous makes a LOT! I'm going to cut back next time. I used mandarain oranges instead of pineapple (thought I had some and didn't) and it was great. I do plan to use pinapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Most family members enjoyed this. I think it has a great flavor, however I did double the dressing portion. The 2 year old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was an easy, tasty meal. I substituted lima beans for the peas, used much less onion, used a large can of pineapple, and added fresh basil. The leftovers were fairly dry since the couscous absorbs so much liquid, so I will likely increase the dressing when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I liked all of the flavor combination except the red onion. It overpowered everything else. Very easy to make. I'll skip the onion next time, but definitely try this again. Maybe more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Made this recipe but substitued smoked salmon for the ham to keep the sodium lower. I was also concerned about the strenth of the red onion so I used a medium shallot instead. End result was great and reduced the sodium to 322mg and calories to 340.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States