Ham and Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I love this recipe, I don't make my own crust for this though therefore making this a quick and easy dinner. My family is not found of Swiss cheese therefor I substitute a sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is a regular at our house. Everyone loves it. I use ready-made crusts and Swiss instead of Jarlsberg, otherwise, I follow the recipe as written. Hubby likes the leftovers for breakfast the next morning! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Holy cow! This was so good! I'm too lazy to make the crust from scratch so I just used pre-made ones. I also used Swiss cheese instead b/c I had some on hand. WOW!!!! I've never written a review before but this was so good I just had to! Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I also agree that it gets better the longer it sits. Warmed some leftovers up for lunch today and it was even better than fresh from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
4.5 stars here. I did use a pre-made crust, swiss & cheddar cheeses, & leftover deli ham. I mixed the ham & onion mixture w/the potatoes & just layered that w/the cheeses. It all came together very well. I let it sit for about 20 min before cutting. Sliced beautifully! Taste was very good & it wasn't dry in the least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
The filling is yummy but I must say I did not use the recipe's pie crust because I love emeril's savory pie crust recipe.And in doing so, the pie just had that WOW factor in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
This is the best use of leftover ham I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Even my very picky 5 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
If I had realized this was a double crust pie, I wouldn't have bothered with it. Since I'd already picked up the ingredients, I made it but only with the bottom crust. The pie was very tasty, but between the pie crusts, the fried potatoes, ham and cheese, this probably has a weeks worth of fat in a single serving! The pie disappeared quickly, but I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
LOVED IT!! Great winter dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Tasty pie, but I would increase the eggs and cream next time - I would double them to four eggs and 2/3 cup of cream. I would have liked it to taste more like a quiche. I think the eggs and cream would have brought all of the other ingredients together more. I gave the dish four stars because I still thought the tastes were great, and it's an excellent way to use left-over ham. I used some herbed goat cheese in addition to the cheddar cheese because I didn't have enough cheddar cheese left from Christmas. Nice blending of tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States