Ham and Mushroom Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Tried this for a tailgate with a breakfast theme. Added green peppers as well. Easy and takes what you already should haveon hand. Will ddefinitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perryville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Crystal City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Those who complained about the sauce being too starchy probably didn't cook their roux long enough. If you don't cook the butter and flour for at least two minutes, you will get a starchy taste. Otherwise, it becomes very nutty. Properly prepared, this casserole is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Really rich. It actually makes a great filling for tortillas. Seriously can just add a bit of cheese to the top instead of the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Tasty, but not so quick. Plan ahead if you want to make this. It does require chilling prior to baking. The texture of the finished eggs was a little softer than I like, but the taste was good. Green or red pepper would work well in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Maybe I tried to manipulate the recipe too much. I threw in some chopped spinach, but didn't increase the amount of cheese sauce. When all was said and done, nobody noticed the cheese sauce at all, because it just seemed like runny egg. I could have just scrambled all the ingredients together, omitted the cheese sauce, melted some cheese on top, and saved myself some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I made this for family brunch a few times, everyone loves it! It's nice that there is no bread, for those who are doing low carb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Terrific - made it for my husband's birthday breakfast and he loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I had to double the cheese for the cheese sauce, double the mushrooms and double the onions. It was otherwise too eggy and the cheese sauce too starchy. But with those adjustments, I've had several people request a copy of the recipe. Plus, for a smaller group, we just cut the recipe in half (still doubling ingredients above) and used a 8x8" pyrex. That came out great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Both the egg haters and egg lovers who ate this casserole loved it! I sprinkled a couple tablespoons of buttered bread crumbs over the top before baking. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Our family is divided on this recipe. I too thought it was starchy...the cheese sauce didn't do it for me at all. It would be easier and less time consuming to scramble eggs, mushrooms, ham and add cheese. I sprinkled my portion with cilantro...that helped a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States