Ham and Hash Brown Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
We've never had quiche before and this was a wonderful introduction. Yes...even Rednecks eat quiche! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was delicious!! Husband is begging me to make again. Only problem I had was that it didn't seem to cook at 350 in 25 minutes. Had to up the oven to 425 and leave it another 15 minutes in oven. I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was delicious! I served it for dinner with a salad and fruit, but it would also be great for a ladies luncheon or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I had an idea for dinner but couldn't find what I wanted so I used this recipe as a template and it was exactly what I was looking for. My version used ham and a mix of sauteed leeks, broccoli and mushrooms. I also added an extra egg & a little extra milk, giving it 35 mins at 350. I may have been overly generous with the melted butter on the crust because only the edges browned and the rest of it was 'foamy' so next time I'll try using a pastry brush and give it a light brush. We will definitely make this again, thank you, Candace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Fairly decent and easily modified with what you have on hand. Although...I decided the ham and cheese amounts excessive for 3 eggs (I even used XL eggs). So, I went with 1/2 C each of chopped smoked deli ham & shredded provolone (cheddar didn't appeal to me) and used 4 eggs. I used an 8" pie pan and I had around 2.5 cups of shredded potatoes (I had to shred my own spuds). I did shred them into a strainer that was submerged in cool water, drained then dried on a tea towel & fresh worked fine. I did toss the melted butter in the potatoes prior to forming a crust. I needed to use up red bell type pepper and 2 small green chili peppers that I had charred/peeled and diced. Oh yeah, I used 1/4 C ea of 2% milk and sour cream in the eggs and seasoned the potatoes a little bit b4 baking. I mixed a few Tblsps each of minced grn onion, provolone, parm shreds and pre-cooked bacon bits and topped the quiche right before it was completely set. With the quiche 6" from the flame I set to broil and a few minutes later...it looked and tasted great! I'll make this again with whatever I have on hand; but less meat/cheese then called for. Turned out 'just right' as dinner for the two of us. Great starting point and easily modified. Thanks for submitting the recipe Candace :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Great for brunch! It was aliile bland the frist go round so, on the second try i used 4 eggs, 2 extra tbls of milk, doubled the salt and pepper, 2/3 cup chopped broccoli and 1/4 cup sliced mushrooms. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this for our family Christmas breakfast and it was a hit with everyone! I had several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was very good! My husband isn't a big fan of quiche but, suddenly, you change up the crust and replace it with hash browns and he's all over it...go figure! I used green onions but aside from that, made no changes. We had it for dinner one night and 2 mornings of breakfast over the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe! We didn't have any hash brown potatoes so I shredded raw potatoes and it worked great! My daughter who does not like eggs even liked this! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Thought it was pretty good. I like the idea of using hash browns as the crust instead of a pie crust. Also, the original recipe could use more eggs and milk because the three eggs in the original recipe are absorbed by the hash brown crust. And because of this you get the taste of eggs but its not like your eating eggs like you would in a traditional quiche.I used 5 eggs and a cup of milk the second time that I made this and it came out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States