Ham and Fruit Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this today as a side dish for a Christmas dinner which had to be stretched to add 6 more people. Without it, the excellent meal would not have felt like Christmas. It was a big success. We were 11 at the table. I doubled the recipe & served it hot with no base like rice or couscous. I followed all suggestions: used bunches of green onions (greet idea, the greens added color contrast), the addition of a small amount of soy sauce, letting it cool and rest for maybe 4 hours (as if overnight - really soaked in juices and softened the ham), then heating & serving... While it was great, I wouldn't give it a 5; it's just not that magic of a recipe. Still for a recipe that I found by typing in the ingredients I happened to have at home -well, except the green onions, a change I made later - this turned out very well. I cubed & chopped everything by hand. Without a food processor, it takes much longer than 35 minutes! Yet, it's very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This recipe worked great for me! It cooked up quickly-as I had cut up everything ahead of time & kept the food in the fridge until it was time to cook. My son who has Sensory Integration really enjoyed the meal as written. My husband added pecans, my 15 yr old daughter added craisins, I added both craisins & pecans. We served it with Jasmine rice and a combo of peas & carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
A lot of reviewers said it tasted best the next day for left overs so I made it tonight and will let it sit till dinner tomorrow. I will be serving it with couscous and a garden salad. It smells delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe didn't quite work for me. It was surprisingly bland and unexciting both in texture and taste. I think the basic idea is good, but this recipe needs some significant tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quario22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I thought this was fantastic. I tweeked it a little and added some slightly chopped pecans, the crunch made it that much more fun to eat. I would suggest adding the apples just before you are done so they are a little crispy instead of mushy, but that's just me. I served it with some cous-cous and my 2 year old even asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe! Great for using up ham after the holidays and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was really, really yummy as well as easy to prepare! I ate it over plain white rice...don't think I'd change anything next time at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This receipe was ok. My husband didn't make his yummy sound which means he didn't like it. I think it was just a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. I used gala apples and it was superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States