Ham and Fresh Basil Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by MICHSHU
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I thought this was great. Everyone loved it and it was light and yummy. I used Tomatoes in oil and that seemed to give it some moisture to keep it together. I also used a little more cream cheese at the end of the roll up to use as glue. P.S. I sent in the picture that was used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This was a big hit at an event a couple of weekends ago. Everyone wanted to know what was in them. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I took heed to other reviews that said the basil was too strong, but I didn’t know how strong…so the first time I made this, I used 2-3 oz. of basil, but that was still too powerful. (In retrospect, I should have gradually added the basil to taste). The second time I made these, I used just one ¾ oz. package of fresh basil, which seemed perfect. All my family members liked it (hubby, parents, and siblings). With this amount, you can taste the basil, but it’s a good mix, not too overpowering, and the amount of cream cheese was adequate. Good taste! I did follow one person’s suggestion of putting the basil, sun-dried tomatoes, and cream cheese in a food processor --- this worked out nicely. *A note about the tortillas: I noticed that the La Mexicana brand tortillas were a little firmer than the Azteca brand. The Azteca brand seemed to crack/split more easily when rolling since they’re softer, but they still ended up rolling nicely. It helps if you take the rolls out of the refrigerator maybe an hour before serving to allow the tortillas & cream cheese to soften a bit so the pinwheels aren’t too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I had problems getting them to stay together in the pinwheels, but they were good. Not sure if I'll make these again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I have made this recipe twice for a crowd to rave reviews! Try not use sundried tomatoes that are too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMGIRL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
My kids are out of school now, and I was looking for something easy to make, wrap and put in the fridge for them, that they can take and run. They really liked these and ate them whole. One son suggested adding black olives next time. Very Yummy..thanks Teri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYHEYPAULA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Very easy to make, but just average in flavor. IF I ever make it again I would use a flavored cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This was tasty. I used flour tortillas that were flavored with garlic, fat free cream cheese, turkey and sun dried tomatoes that I rehydrated with water (not oil packed). It was very easy to prepare and tasty to boot. i took it to church for a pre-movie snack for the group. It went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
a simple but tasty treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States