Ham and Fresh Basil Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I made these for a baby shower and people really liked them. The basil flavor was a bit strong for some though. Not for me. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I just made these pinrolls (less the lettuce) and they are great! I used Trader Joe's lavash bread (hye rollers at the supermarket are basically the same thing) and they are 100% yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
These were a hit at my husband company picnic! I now make them once a week for my husband's lunch. I took sun dried tomatos packed in EVOO, and fresh basil and put them in the food processor then spread thinly on top of ham, also used butter lettuce, it's little and easy to fit inside and adds a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccy_h

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I omitted the fresh basil and instead used garlic and herb tortillas, cream cheese, smoked ham, sun-dried tomatoes and Boston Leaf lettuce. Got rave reviews! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
These are great. I used low fat cream cheese and made some ham and some with turkey. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This is a good template but needed to be kicked up a little so I added a bit of garlic powder, dijon mustard, lemon zest, salt & pepper to my cream cheese mixture. I fancied it up by using spinach tortillias and prosciutto intead of ham. I also added a tiny bit of shredded Gruyere for added flavor. Drizzle with a little Extra Virgin Olive Oil and you are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
These have been a big hit at parties - my husband especially loves the sun-dreid tomatoes in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I have found reading the reviews of a recipe so helpful before I make the recipe! I really enjoyed both making and eating this one. I used Tofuyan whole wheat wraps and they worked well with no tearing (they were at room temp). I used a jar of sun dried tomaotes in oil, dumped it in the food processor and added the basil (in my opinion, there is no such thing as too much basil). I really like beef with basil, so I used 2 slices of Healthy Choice Roast Beef on each roll up. They turned out great. Next time I will drain 1/2 of the oil from the tomatoes and I may skip/reduce the cream cheese. All in all, a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
These are fantastic! The combination of ham/basil/sun driedtomatoes is perfect. My grocery store was out of fresh basil but they did have some wonderful fresh basil pesto with pine nuts. I remember reading another rating that said using this was good and it was! I followed the recipe the same otherwise. I will be making these again in a couple of weeks when my college girlfriends and I will be getting together for a kayak trip. I know they will scarf them down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Always a hit. This is a never fail recipe. The only thing I add is roasted red pepper. (the kind in the jar) I seems to add that extra punch that it needs and moisture. I make this on quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States