Ham and Fresh Basil Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I thought these were awesome with the fresh basil. I used chipole cream cheese instead of regular cream cheese. It gave them a bite. They were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I changed this recipe up allot! I used the sun dried tomato wraps. Instead of regular cream cheese I used jalapeno cream cheese. And, instead of lettuce I used baby spinach! Was amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
use allrecipes.com for all and anything i need a recipe for and read a lot of comments when im looking for ways to tweak out the recipe, but never ever commented my experience on any recipe; except now...love,love,love this recipe. It is my new favorite snack and new pot-luck dish. Not to mention my oh so picky boyfriend, loved it too...a little piece of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amleset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Ham & Fresh Basil Pinwheels' Haiku: "I used less cream cheese, and 'spinach-herb' tortillas. These disappeared fast!" I used 8 8" spinach tortillas and kept the rest of the ingredients' amounts the same, other than reducing the cream cheese drastically - I can't imagine going thru 8 oz. - it would've been like biting thru a layer of cream cheese as its own ingredient in the sandwich, rather than just the tortilla-lube. Definitely worth the splurge to get good quality deli ham, and not pre-packaged stuff. I served these at a party, and they were a delish hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was really good, but I made some changes. I am not a big fan of sun-dried tomatoes that are bottled from the store. They are usually too oily and I think putting them in there would be too strong. I put the sun dried tomatoes, cream cheese, basil (dried), and some garlic powder in a food processor and mixed it together like a paste. Then I put that as the spread. Then I put the ham, and instead of the red leaf lettuce used baby spinach down on the tortillas. It was exellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These were good, but I think they would be better with carrots. *UPDATE* In my opinion, MUCH better with carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've been eating a variation of this for lunch most days for the past couple of weeks. I go through all of the steps but instead of rolling it into pinwheels to serve as appetizers I eat the whole thing as a wrap. I use low-fat cream cheese so that it's not so fattening. Also, since I'm not slicing it into pinwheels I skip the chilling step (I figure the chilling is just to keep it from falling apart when you are slicing it into rounds). I wouldn't usually think of sundried tomatoes as something to combine with ham, but I really enjoy the combination. And you can't go wrong with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I tried these at my aunt's party yesterday and just had to come here today to look up the recipe. They tasted awesome and are fast and easy to make for a get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
good for what it is - easy finger food. I added some green onion and a little garlic powder and pepper. The basil was a great diversion from the normal roll-up recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Delicious! I like my food with a little zipp so i doctored it a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States