Ham and Corn Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Used frozen corn (February in Jersey is not corn season!), and added some very sharp white cheddar, diced very fine. Cut back on the cayenne a bit, but it was still plenty. Maybe because I didn't thaw the corn the batter came out thicker, but I used a small ice cream scoop to pop them in the fryer. Wow! Lots of flavor, pretty easy recipe, and reheated in a hot oven like a charm. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I have not stopped making these since downloading them a month ago! Everybody loves them. I added 3/4 cup cheddar cheese and halved the cayenne pepper after the first batch. Firm favourite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made these last night as a side dish to go with jambalaya and gumbo....these were great, lots of rave reviews from my guests! They were fairly easy to make, and I will definitely make them again. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltair4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really good. Took them as an appetiser to a shared dinner. I think it may have been because they were quite a dry mix but they didn't go soggy. The corn was a bit volatile while cooking so there were a few pops. I made them bite sized and we had them cold with a fresh tomato salsa. Very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was really good! I made it as close to the recipe as I could. The only changes I had to make were I used 1/2 c re-hydrated minced onion (my red onion was well past it's prime) and only 1/2 T cayenne pepper (learned from a previous experience that 1 T is WAY to much for my family). The ham and corn had a nice sweet contrast to the savory spice of the dough. Keeping the oil at temp is important to avoid a dense beignet. (funny I didn't know beignet was French for fritter or fried dough. I looked it up since the first thing my hubby said was "That's a fritter."). I used a cookie scoop to drop it into the oil and found that the more horizontal I could get the scoop the better the batter came out. This is going to make a big batch for my family of 4 so I'm going to try to freeze the cooked ones and reheat in the oven and see how that turns out. UPDATE: Freezing them turned out great. Thaw in fridge and bake at 350 until warmed through and crispy. Will make again possibly with crab meat in 1/2 batch and andoulle in the other (sans pepper for this). Now to find a great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These were fantastic. They fry up quick and they taste great with cocktail sauce or maple syrup. I'm sure they're excellent when done exactly as directed, but I have to admit I used canned corn and 'lunchmeat' ham. STILL fabulous and completely foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I have not tried this yet, but wanted to say I have tried similiar fritters. Lets face it, most anything fried is good, right? Try with a cheddar sauce. I will let you know the general opinion of these when I am through making them.... Happy frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
So so delicious!!!! I followed the recipe exactly but used Canadian bacon instead of ham. Everyone raved about them! I made a Cajun dipping sauce that was the perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
3 stars because they are way easy and taste alright... they definitely change into a different texture after the first day. Out of the oil, they're crispy, the next day they are chewy. They definitely need more flavor in my opinion. I added cheese half way through because I thought they were bland and that made a big difference. I had also made an artichoke dip and they taste good dipped in that also. They taste like "hush puppies." This made a huge batch and I finally threw the last of them away. We aren't really crazy about fried foods and didn't like the greasy feel. I won't make these again. It needs a little more "something." Overall okay, easy recipe. Just wasn't our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States