Ham and Corn Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I have not tried this yet, but wanted to say I have tried similiar fritters. Lets face it, most anything fried is good, right? Try with a cheddar sauce. I will let you know the general opinion of these when I am through making them.... Happy frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made these last night as a side dish to go with jambalaya and gumbo....these were great, lots of rave reviews from my guests! They were fairly easy to make, and I will definitely make them again. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltair4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These were fantastic. They fry up quick and they taste great with cocktail sauce or maple syrup. I'm sure they're excellent when done exactly as directed, but I have to admit I used canned corn and 'lunchmeat' ham. STILL fabulous and completely foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really good. Took them as an appetiser to a shared dinner. I think it may have been because they were quite a dry mix but they didn't go soggy. The corn was a bit volatile while cooking so there were a few pops. I made them bite sized and we had them cold with a fresh tomato salsa. Very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Used frozen corn (February in Jersey is not corn season!), and added some very sharp white cheddar, diced very fine. Cut back on the cayenne a bit, but it was still plenty. Maybe because I didn't thaw the corn the batter came out thicker, but I used a small ice cream scoop to pop them in the fryer. Wow! Lots of flavor, pretty easy recipe, and reheated in a hot oven like a charm. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I have not stopped making these since downloading them a month ago! Everybody loves them. I added 3/4 cup cheddar cheese and halved the cayenne pepper after the first batch. Firm favourite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
So so delicious!!!! I followed the recipe exactly but used Canadian bacon instead of ham. Everyone raved about them! I made a Cajun dipping sauce that was the perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Great recipe and easy to make. Only changes I made were to cut the cayenne and salt in half and add an all purpose seasoning (Northwoods from Penzey's). Unless you are feeding an army, I would cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911boxer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Haven't yet tried this recipe, but it looks like the fritters we used to have growing up. Except ours were sweet and contained raisins or sliced apple, and were served with sugar, Roger's Golden Syrup or whatever jam we had handy at the time. Fritters......time for some fritters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
yummy dipped in spicy mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States