Ham and Corn Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Used frozen corn (February in Jersey is not corn season!), and added some very sharp white cheddar, diced very fine. Cut back on the cayenne a bit, but it was still plenty. Maybe because I didn't thaw the corn the batter came out thicker, but I used a small ice cream scoop to pop them in the fryer. Wow! Lots of flavor, pretty easy recipe, and reheated in a hot oven like a charm. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I have not stopped making these since downloading them a month ago! Everybody loves them. I added 3/4 cup cheddar cheese and halved the cayenne pepper after the first batch. Firm favourite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made these last night as a side dish to go with jambalaya and gumbo....these were great, lots of rave reviews from my guests! They were fairly easy to make, and I will definitely make them again. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltair4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really good. Took them as an appetiser to a shared dinner. I think it may have been because they were quite a dry mix but they didn't go soggy. The corn was a bit volatile while cooking so there were a few pops. I made them bite sized and we had them cold with a fresh tomato salsa. Very nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These were fantastic. They fry up quick and they taste great with cocktail sauce or maple syrup. I'm sure they're excellent when done exactly as directed, but I have to admit I used canned corn and 'lunchmeat' ham. STILL fabulous and completely foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was really good! I made it as close to the recipe as I could. The only changes I had to make were I used 1/2 c re-hydrated minced onion (my red onion was well past it's prime) and only 1/2 T cayenne pepper (learned from a previous experience that 1 T is WAY to much for my family). The ham and corn had a nice sweet contrast to the savory spice of the dough. Keeping the oil at temp is important to avoid a dense beignet. (funny I didn't know beignet was French for fritter or fried dough. I looked it up since the first thing my hubby said was "That's a fritter."). I used a cookie scoop to drop it into the oil and found that the more horizontal I could get the scoop the better the batter came out. This is going to make a big batch for my family of 4 so I'm going to try to freeze the cooked ones and reheat in the oven and see how that turns out. UPDATE: Freezing them turned out great. Thaw in fridge and bake at 350 until warmed through and crispy. Will make again possibly with crab meat in 1/2 batch and andoulle in the other (sans pepper for this). Now to find a great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I have not tried this yet, but wanted to say I have tried similiar fritters. Lets face it, most anything fried is good, right? Try with a cheddar sauce. I will let you know the general opinion of these when I am through making them.... Happy frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
So so delicious!!!! I followed the recipe exactly but used Canadian bacon instead of ham. Everyone raved about them! I made a Cajun dipping sauce that was the perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
3 stars because they are way easy and taste alright... they definitely change into a different texture after the first day. Out of the oil, they're crispy, the next day they are chewy. They definitely need more flavor in my opinion. I added cheese half way through because I thought they were bland and that made a big difference. I had also made an artichoke dip and they taste good dipped in that also. They taste like "hush puppies." This made a huge batch and I finally threw the last of them away. We aren't really crazy about fried foods and didn't like the greasy feel. I won't make these again. It needs a little more "something." Overall okay, easy recipe. Just wasn't our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States