Ham and Corn Bake - Easy and Yummy! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
My mom just made this and it was not to our liking. Unfortunately, she did not read the reviews before cooking :o( However, I think we'll hold onto the recipe and just use some of the suggestions listed below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Great initial flavor, but the amount of salt overpowered you after a few bites. Use garlic powder or minced fresh garlic instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Way to salty!!!!!!!!! Cut way back on the salt and this would be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenrecycle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was very disappointed in this recipe. My husband made it tonight. He followed the recipe exactly. It was NOT creamy at all! He used less celery than the recipe called for and all I could taste was CELERY! It was spongy and had water on the bottom. The cheddar cheese would have been better if it were mixed into the other ingredients. It was too thick to be all on top and was rubbery after sitting 1/2 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This recipe was good but I did make some changes after reading reviews. First of all I soaked my ham in cold water for an hour after dicing to leach out some of the salt. I used garlic powder instead of salt. I also used low sodium canned corn and only used 2 eggs. I used cream of mushroom soup as I could not find cream of asparagus, but I did add a can of chopped asparagus to it well drained. Instead of the bread crumbs I used left over corn bread that I had crumbled and mixed with 3 strips of crispy bacon chopped well, this turned out wonderfully. The salt content was not a problem and it was very flavorful. anytime you are dealing with a salt cured meat such as ham there are ways to reduce the salt content you just have to do the extra step and soak it! I will definitely make this again my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dillon, Montana, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very good. However, I would use garlic powder instead of garlic salt next time. Quite salty. I couldn't find Cream of Asparagus soup, so I used Cream of celery. (I left out the diced celery.) Also, I added egg noodles to it. It seemed as if it needed something more. I doubled the recipe, but didn't double the eggs; I'm glad I didn't because 3 eggs was perfect. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I'm glad I read the reviews ... I added sauteed garlic and whipping cream to help counter-balance the saltiness. I also added a tablespoon of sweet honey mustard. Plus a handful of frozen peas for color. Creamy goodness !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Followed the recipe. Too much egg and was very runny after coming out of oven. Did not add any extra liquid to soup and drained corn completely. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
very comforting casserole. i however used dijon mustard in place of the yellow. very good on a cold dreary day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistycolleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I had never heard of cream of asparagus soup, but I did use cream/mushroom. I used granulated garlic and garlic/herb seasoned bread crumbs. Because ham is salty in addition to using canned items and store-bought bread crumbs, this recipe has no way to control the salt content. My husband, thanks to him, was able to eat it. I couldn't eat but more than two bites. I fed my 1 yr old a serving and put some ranch on it to help with some flavor and it tasted worse. I'm surprised she ate it (maybe it was just the ranch). All the same, this would be perfect for someone not worried about high salt content, but certainly not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States