Ham and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I made a few changes. My husband does not like ham so I only added chicken. No one in my family likes celery so I also let it out. I added the paprika to the sauce mixture. I was a little worried that it was to much paprika but it ended up being the perfect amount. Everyone in my family liked this alot. I even had 2 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe was well liked by my husband and father-in-law. I added some garlic, onion and parsley to the sauce and used homemade egg noodles. Quick to put together and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Being a great cook means you can take a recipe, and make it your own with seasonings, or adding whatever you would like. For those who like more seasoned dishes (like me), this recipe is bland. However, it is not a bad recipe. Just season however you wish. I had no cheese, and improvised this dish into a great dinner for my family of six. First, I scaled the recipe to serve 8 so we would have leftovers. I melted the butter, omitted the celery, and sauteed onion in the butter. I added the flour and milk (3 cups), plus I added one cup of leftover gravy made with chicken broth with the milk. The thickening time will take a little longer than five mintues, just be patient. I added the paprika to the mixture (not the top), salt, pepper, onion salt, ham (from the deli), and cubed chicken. I baked for a few minutes to warm (I had made this earlier in the day to serve at dinner), and used no cheese. It was great and everyone was full and happy. The prep time was NOT long, and this dish was super easy. A great base recipe for those creative cooks out there. Good kid friendly dish, too! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I chose to sweat the onions and celery in the butter to soften them. I agree that the cheese should be added to the white sauce, however, next time I would use Velveeta for a smoother texture, since cheddar seems to break pretty easily. This recipe would be great with a cheese substitute of asiago, parmesean and romano and penne pasta. What a great base for so many casseroles using whatever your taste and ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This is a good way to get rid of left over chicken. I added cheese to the sauce to combat the lack of flavor other reviewers complained about. I also added a little creole spice. I then added cheese and cracker crumbs to the top. It was good and my 18 month old daughter really liked it. I will keep it in mind for the next time I have left over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
A very quick recipe. If you are using leftovers and don't have any chicken, don't worry. I didn't think the chicken did much of anything. for the taste. I added the cheese to the sauce. I also threw in a clove of minced garlic. I will make this again when I have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
this was a little bland-- i added way more cheddar cheese on top just to make it taste better. okay, but i doubt i'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was easy and the kids loved it. One more thing to add to the list of things that ALL of our kids will eat! We will definitely use this again! I added a little bit of deasoning to the sauce. It seemed like it would be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This was ok. I made it for company and was dissapointed because it didnt look all that great. But my husband thought it was very good and had seconds. I dont think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
YUMMY is all that I have to say! This was a hit. What a great warm-your-insides dish for winter! The only suggestions that i have are: - when making the cream sauce add cheese to it, it makes a huge difference since the cream sauce is bland. - try using small rotini noodles it bakes up great as well and it more filling - i followed someone else's suggestion and sauteed onions and the celery and it was a great addition. - without a doubt you have to triple this recipe. That made enough for one supper and one lunch (leftovers) for my husband and I which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States