Ham and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Great base recipe. Made a couple of adjustments... Used a whole package of egg noodles, and doubled the white sauce ingredients. Skipped the chicken altogether (had lots of ham) Added some Mrs Dash, salt/pepper, paprika, seasoning salt and parsley to the white sauce, and tossed in a couple of handfuls of frozen veggies (peas, carrots, grn beans, corn). Had no celery, so skipped it. Baked it with the cheese on top, with some sprinkled crushed corn flakes. Lovely dinner. Was nice and colorful with the addition of the veggies, and beautifully creamy...will make again! Will probably try it with sauteed onions and celery in next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I liked it very much (hence the 4 stars), but my family loved it. Wish I could have given it 4 1/2 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This one is easy and to my taste works best when you increase the amount of cheese a bit and add half of it to the sauce. Chicken is wasted, though. Just can't taste it. Next time I'll just use a bit more ham and omit chicken.(Chicken might work with a milder cheese though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
My daughter and I can't have dairy, and we have been craving something cheesy!! So I used goat milk in place of the milk. I follow the recipe, for the white sauce. I used 1 onion and 3 cloves garlic and 3 ribs of celery and sauted all together. I didn't use the chicken in the recipe. Lots of ham left over from easter. I also tripled the the recipe and put it all in a 9 by 13 glass pan. I used goat cheddar, and sheep parm. cheese. I topped it with crushed potato chips. Great recipe and I will make this again. I will also use the white sauce to make mac & cheese sometime soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Good casserole for weeknight family dinner. It's mac and cheese with meat. The paprika is a surprisingly good addition. I topped ours with Durkee Onion Rings for added flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Made with a few modifications mentioned in the reviews, but this is a great base recipe. My husband and boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe was gorgeous! I added the cheese and paprika to the sauce while making it. I topped it with a thin layer of breadcrumbs. I also added broccoli which combined with the other flavors really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 3monsters2feed
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe. I had a ton of left over ham from christmas. I tripled the recipe for 5 of us and there was plenty. It still fit into a 9x13 pan. I also added fresh sliced mushrooms to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3monsters2feed

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saybrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
In a 9X13 dish: half a box of fettuccine noodles (that's all I had on hand). 1 - 1.5 lb package chicken breast. 1/2 pound (diced) ham, 1 bag shredded mozzarella cheese (instead of the cheddar), 1 small onion (instead of celery). Instead of paprika, I used Penzey's Black & Red (black pepper / cayenne pepper), plus the one cup milk, the flour, s&p. Also tossed in some garlic powder and basil. **Also try with a four cheese blend, and adding a bit of Parmensan. Mmmm**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I thought this recipe was a little bland. It needs something else added with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States