Ham and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Good casserole. Thanks to the other reviewers who repeatedly stated that this only serves 2, I doubled it. But even then, it barely fed all of us. Next time, I will have to triple the recipe. Also, I added 2 TBLS diced onions and sauted them in a TBLS butter with the celery so that they are cooked through and when I triple the recipe, I'm going to add more noodles. We like creamy but not "saucy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
9 X 13 dish is too big. Use a 1 1/2qt dish. Excellent dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
YUMMY is all that I have to say! This was a hit. What a great warm-your-insides dish for winter! The only suggestions that i have are: - when making the cream sauce add cheese to it, it makes a huge difference since the cream sauce is bland. - try using small rotini noodles it bakes up great as well and it more filling - i followed someone else's suggestion and sauteed onions and the celery and it was a great addition. - without a doubt you have to triple this recipe. That made enough for one supper and one lunch (leftovers) for my husband and I which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Good way to use up leftover vegetables and meat. Since it was my first time to make this though, I followed the recipe with ham and chicken. I did add some carrots and onions and stirfried them with the chicken and celery before putting it in the casserole dish with the noodles. Tripled the serving size (recipe for 12) just to serve 5 hungry adults. It was barely enough. Also added a couple teaspoons of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. I will do that again next time as well since it came out perfect that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This was very good. I too had to double this recipe to feed my family of four (I also cooked other things, plus had homebaked bread). I've also tried this in a pie crust to make it into chicken pot pie, and the family (especially the youngest kid, who eats hardly anything, ate two helpings of this) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
Very good, but 4 servings?? I could tell it wouldn't even feed one hungry teenager so I tripled it and it still wasn't enough for the 4 of us. I used only leftover Easter ham and added a handful of Sargento shredded Italian cheese to the white sauce. My two teenage sons loved it as did my husband! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Prep time may be 10 minutes if you have everything chopped already, otherwise it took me more like 40 minutes as I was chopping celery and other vegetables I wanted to add in there (onions, carrots and a bit of leftover broccoli). I sauted chicken breast cubes with the vegetables before adding in with the noodles. The sauce didn't thicken after 20 minutes to a consistency that made me feel confident it was going to turn out right so I added a bit of cornstarch. Everyone liked it and had seconds. I'll do it again the same way next time but I will allow more time for prep! With all the vegies, it made a nice meal. I just had one side vegetable dish. BTW, I more than tripled the recipe (added an extra cup of noodles on top of that) to make for 6 adults and it came out with just a little leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Finally!! I found a dish to make for my boyfriend that makes him say 'WOW!' when he tastes it. I used elbow macaroni, deli ham, and omitted the celery. I had some leftover mozzarella cheese slices that I tore into pieces and tossed in, and then threw some shredded "mexican cheese" on the top. It was wonderful and we loved it. What's even better is that it was so easy and quick. This will be made at least once a month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Thank you for having a casserole dish that doesn't use canned cream of blah blah soup! That said, the amounts of noodles per sauce seems off in this recipe. I more than doubled the amount of egg noodles and it was still very saucy. I used all ham just because I had no cooked chicken available. I also used finely chopped onion instead of celery, and added a clove of minced garlic and also cheddar to the sauce. Worked very well! A very good basic recipe to be tweaked to your hearts content. Broccoli would be great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
the only thing i regret is not doubling the recipe [:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States