Ham and Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This turned out pretty well: but I made some modifications after reading the reviews. I melted butter and then mixed in the flour, cornstarch, 1 t of lemon pepper, onion powder and lots of pepper. I next added the milk, 2 bouillon cubes, some fresh sliced mushrooms and pimentos, and let it thicken. I made sure to julienne the potatoes, and added broccoli. The key is to julienne the potatoes so they get done in time. The broccoli was a little overdone; maybe I'll cover next time. That's what's great about this site: recipe building is a community process, instead of scripture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Wow, we loved this recipe. I did not have a problem making the sauce without butter. I think that this sauce is very versatile, and could be modified for use with any pasta dish as well. Next time though, I will ease up on the chicken boullion to cut down on the "saltyness" of it. ps: make sure you julienne your spuds small if you want it to cook in an hour.. mine took almost two - well worth the wait though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
My family absolutely loves this recipe. I just cut up enough potatos to fill my casserole dish, dice up a ham steak toss it over the potatoes and pour the sauce over it. It turns out great every time. I serve it along with a Ceaser salad. It makes for a great inexpensive meal. It's wonderfully quick to make too if you don't have a lot of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I didn't get the "toast the flour" portion of this recipe. I can't see how its possible ~ so I first melted 4 TBLS butter before adding the flour and (only half the) cornstarch. I also used skim milk, only 1 tsp of lemon pepper and 2 chix bullion cubes. Finally, I added 1/2c chopped brocoli and a jar of diced pimentos for color and taste. Not too salty or pasty. In fact, it was pretty good! Very homey (meaning non-gourmet) dinner. If the potatoes are cubed to the right size (small) they should cook in the time allotted. Thanks Fran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I liked this OK, but nothing extra special. This is what I call a mac n cheese kind of meal, i.e. just a casual mid-week family type meal, what one reviewer called "homey." (Someone else said it was like glorified potatoes au gratin - good description really.) I followed the recipe exactly. As to the undecided-if-its-a-white-sauce: I had absolutely no trouble with it. I really didn't "get" the toasting the flour thing, but sorta did it anyway. Didn't have any trouble adding the milk to just the dry stuff with no butter, and with no lumps. (You must take that word "gradually" quite literally and add just tiny bits of milk at a time, make sure it's mixed well, etc. You have to do this even with butter. When it's more liquidy you can dump in the rest.)(For the self-proclaimed "expert" to be unable to do this strikes me as amusing.) I have a cool little slicer thing that does julienne, as well as thin slices, and it's easier and faster than a food processor, and easier to clean. I don't recall if mine was done in an hour, but I'm sure I would've made note had it been ridiculously longer than that. And I didn't find it salty, but I'm a salt-a-holic so I guess I didn't notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was a great use of our leftover ham but I did make a couple of modifications. I didn't have time to cut the potatoes by hand (it was a last minute thing) so I used the slicing function on my food processor to get nice thin slices. I then cut them up a bit more but I don't think that was necessary. I melted 4 tablespoons of butter and added the flour to that. I didn't have lemon pepper and didn't substitute anything. I also used garlic instead of onion powder. I added chopped onions to the sauce before adding the cheese. I also only used 2 chicken bouillons instead of 3 and I still think it was a little bit salty. We had much more than 1 cup of ham to use up so I put it all in. My husband commented that there wasn't very much of it, I would do do an extra half recipe or even double it next time I make it because we like to have leftovers for lunch. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I just made this after reading the previous reviews. I reduced the bouillon cubes from 3 to 2 (to combat reported saltiness), made sure to julienne my potatoes (so it would cook in 1 hour), and used skim milk in the sauce (so it wouldn't be too thick). I'm glad I read the reviews first because these adjustments made the recipe come out perfectly. While my husband and I enjoyed it, my 3-year-old twins were not big fans. I suspect it may have been a bit too "spicey" for them. They picked out the ham to eat but avoided the saucey potatoes. If I make it again, I might try reducing or leaving out the lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Darn good and flavorful recipe, but it was a bit salty for me (and I like salty). When I made the sauce, it came out a bit too thick and I had to add more milk and even some water to thin it out a bit so that it covered the potatoes and ham better. I am not sure if it was the ham or the chicken bullion that I used that added the extra saltiness. I will DEFINITELY be making it again though!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This really came out good with a few changes. I really didn't get the dry toasting of the flour, so cooked a finely chopped onion in 1T butter until softened, then added a minced clove of garlic and the flour and cooked until the flour was a light gold, then added the rest of the seasonings and milk. Pureed the sauce in the food processor (presto! no lumps!) with one bouillon cube (there was no way in the world I was going to use 3), then returned to the pan to cook until thickened. Melted in colby/jack cheese and poured over the layered ham (about 2 cups) and julienned potatos. Baked up with crispy edges and tasted wonderful. Only slight negative I can say is the potatos turned a little gray since there wasn't enough sauce to fully cover, which didn't affect the flavor, but doesn't look as pretty. Next time I would double the sauce to make the cassarole a little 'juicier'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
YUM this was so good!! I intended to follow the recipe very closely but I accidentally added 1tsp oregano (had it out to refill my container) and I also added a bag of frozen broccoli. That's the only changes I made. The potatoes did take much longer to cook for me even though I sliced them very thin before cutting them julienne and I covered the pan with foil but I still had to leave this in the oven for 30 more minutes. Even though I'm not a fan of velveeta I had some to use up, and with that I also used 1c shredded sharp cheddar. That along with the seasoning was just so tasty - we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States