Ham and Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
The lemon pepper is overpowering and the cheese sauce isn't particularly tasty. The potatoes were undercooked in only an hour of baking. Definitely not a hit in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
YUMMY YUMMY not pretty to look at but great tasting. I did not add the lemon pepper but it turned out great, will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I didn't get the "toast the flour" portion of this recipe. I can't see how its possible ~ so I first melted 4 TBLS butter before adding the flour and (only half the) cornstarch. I also used skim milk, only 1 tsp of lemon pepper and 2 chix bullion cubes. Finally, I added 1/2c chopped brocoli and a jar of diced pimentos for color and taste. Not too salty or pasty. In fact, it was pretty good! Very homey (meaning non-gourmet) dinner. If the potatoes are cubed to the right size (small) they should cook in the time allotted. Thanks Fran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Used it on Easter for brunch. It got raves, which is hard to do with my family- picky kids and in-laws that are great cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Neither my husband nor I could finish our servings of this recipe. It was pasty and had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I just made this after reading the previous reviews. I reduced the bouillon cubes from 3 to 2 (to combat reported saltiness), made sure to julienne my potatoes (so it would cook in 1 hour), and used skim milk in the sauce (so it wouldn't be too thick). I'm glad I read the reviews first because these adjustments made the recipe come out perfectly. While my husband and I enjoyed it, my 3-year-old twins were not big fans. I suspect it may have been a bit too "spicey" for them. They picked out the ham to eat but avoided the saucey potatoes. If I make it again, I might try reducing or leaving out the lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made this delicious concoction over the Christmas holidays, and everybody (me included) loved it! Absolutely no complaints about anything. A totally enjoyable way to turn left over ham into a truly tasteful dinner. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Darn good and flavorful recipe, but it was a bit salty for me (and I like salty). When I made the sauce, it came out a bit too thick and I had to add more milk and even some water to thin it out a bit so that it covered the potatoes and ham better. I am not sure if it was the ham or the chicken bullion that I used that added the extra saltiness. I will DEFINITELY be making it again though!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This is a delicious recipe. I needed to cover it with foil while baking to avoid burning on the top, but that may be my old, inacurate oven. Also great to add cooked broccoli to potatoes and ham if you like that sort of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Wow, we loved this recipe. I did not have a problem making the sauce without butter. I think that this sauce is very versatile, and could be modified for use with any pasta dish as well. Next time though, I will ease up on the chicken boullion to cut down on the "saltyness" of it. ps: make sure you julienne your spuds small if you want it to cook in an hour.. mine took almost two - well worth the wait though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States