Ham and Cheese Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by FACSTeacher
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was an amazing recipe! I used leftover Christmas HAM too. I just read the reviews, took a few suggestions then did what other reviewers did and tweaked it a little taking some of their suggestions: I used packaged frozen pie crust--prebaked 10 min; sauted the mushrooms in butter, used frozen spinach so I steamed it in the microwave and then squeezed out the excess water. I didn't have swiss so I lined the bottom of the crust with an "italian shredded cheese" blend, then sprinkled about 1/2 cup on top of quiche before baking. I also added 1/2 tsp. tarragon and 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. freshly grated black pepper. WONDERFUL!!!! I served this for my family. My husband doesn't even like spinach and he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FACSTeacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I made this quiche for brunch yesterday and it turned out very well, but I did change things a bit. Here's what I did: I sauteed a medium sized onion with the mushrooms in some butter until soft. Then I added about a half a package of frozen chopped spinach. I pre-baked by pie shell for about 10 minutes before adding the other ingredients. Then I added the mushroom/onion/spinach mixture, topped it with the ham and about 1.5 cups of cheese and then the egg mixture. I used 5 eggs and about 1.5 cups of 1% milk in place of the cream. The end result was very tasty and one that I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Very good!! I used frozen spinach and it tasted great! DSO loved it!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
5 stars, what more can I say... Perfect the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Wonderful! I omit the mushrooms and use the little cubed ham from the deli meat section instead of the canned ham. This is great and I just love it. These also freeze well so that you can thaw and pop in the oven when you don't have time to cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This recipe was great! I also used deli ham as opposed to canned and just chopped the thin-sliced pieces. I omitted the mushrooms and used frozen spinach - just thaw and dry first. Be sure to pre-bake the crust for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Easy to make. My husband loves this recipes. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I love this quiche. It's been in regular rotation since the first time I made it. I use frozen pie crusts and prebake them. Instead of flaked ham I cube a ham steak and add a layer of sauteed fresh mushrooms, and use frozen spinach rather than fresh. I like to add finely chopped onion too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Pretty good quiche recipe. I omitted the crust, to make it healthier. I just chopped up the cheese, spinach and mushrooms and stirred it all up before pouring it into dish. I also topped with some additional cheese. Made great breakfast with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I left out the spinach and mushrooms and added an egg. It was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States