Ham and Cheese Picnic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
We don't like pimentos or olives, and I used cheddar cheese (cause that's what I had). The whole family loved it. Some dipped the slices in mustard, but no one thought it was bland...would love to try with lots of different filling options! Very quick and easy ... I kneaded the bread with my mixer attachment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I was in a hurry so I used frozen bread dough. The filling is tasty, though I think I'd change the pimentos to sun dried tomatoes packed in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Love it! I've made it with and without the olives (b/c I didn't have any the last time), and I think next time, I'll saute some red peppers and onions instead of using the jarred red peppers. Oh, and I use swiss or swiss and mozzarella combined instead of all mozzarella. It's in my book under "Favorite Ham Leftover Recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
It was alright, just very bland. I left out the olives and peppers because no-one in my family likes them. The dough was awfully hard to knead by hand... Very tacky and sticky. The bread was also pretty tasteless. Perhaps I added too much flour in the kneading process... I had no idea what the instructions were talking about when it came to shaping the dough, so I simply spread the filling in the middle of it and folded the ends over the filling. I'll try making this again, adding maybe another 1/2 tsp of sugar to the dough and omitting the egg. Probably will add oregano and finely chopping onion to the filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I subsituted the flour with a little wholemeal, otherwise followed exactly. But found the recipe bland..did not taste as good as it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Very nice, I made mine more like a pizza bread, with a little bit of tomato paste and substituted pepperoni for the ham. I folded the long edges over to enclose the filling because I could not make sense of the instructions for the cuts and then pulling diagonal ??? Thanks for a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Absolutely wonderful. Very quick and easy and my fiance couldn't stop talking about it. Please try this, you won't regret making this fun dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I made this for m ex-boyfriend to bring along on a cold winter camping trip. It's very filling and kept him going in the cold. And it's delicious! We're not together anymore but he still asks me to make it for him when he goes backpack hiking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This bread tastes great and looks terrific. I usually add more cheese (maybe 2 cups total) to the filling. Roasted red peppers, sliced green olives, diced chilis, sundried tomatoes, marinated artichoke hearts are all good substitutes if you're out of black olives or pimentos. This has become a staple of my family's summer picnics at the lake--in fact, I suspect my kids like the bread better than the outing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I thought this was ok - I just think it was bland but I dont know what it needed. I tried to add more cheese and it turned into mush inside. I really like the black olives in there and I used ready made diced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States