Ham and Cheese Picnic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I got the sticky dough problem as did some of the other reviewers. I'm guessing the egg and water was just a bit too much for the dough to come together. Ended up adding a lot more flour but the dough just kept eating it all up and my loaf ended up sticking all the way till it was removed from the oven. I gotta have to agree that the bread didn't have much taste either. But all in all, this is an interesting recipe and I would definitely want to try it again once I learn how to control my bread dough properly and might use a different bread recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Read the instructions. It might take longer than shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I made this for a group lunch that I volunteered to cater. I added some Romano cheese for extra flavor and served with marinara sauce on the side. Everyone loved this lunch because it is easy to eat and fun too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Absolutely great! I added some garlic, basil and parsley to the dough and mushrooms to the filling. If you saute the onion, etc., make sure to drain well before spreading over dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I'm 14 and love to cook! My mother has buisness meetings at our house, I've made this more than once for them and everyone loved it. It is very easy to make, you can add onions and peppers if you want and be sure to try different meats and cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Wish I had read all the reviews. My dough was sticky and difficult to work with. I added extra flour early on because it was sticky, then needed to add a lot before "braiding." That why I gave it four stars. I'd give it five for taste, though. **update**Ate my words! We make this all the time in summer and it's perfect with 1/8c more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by APRILMARANDA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is so surprisingly easy and the finished product looks beautiful. I used ham, turkey, baby swiss, and sauted 2 large shallots, 1 clove of garlic and 3 roasted red peppers in olive oil and spread that on the dough before I layered the meat and cheese. Be sure to brush the top with butter after it's done baking. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMARANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Very good. Added some cayenne pepper to the mustard + mayonnaise sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This recipe is not only easy, but it was a pleaser. I was a little nervous about the bread considering I never used yeast before, but it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyx26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was absolutely terrific!! As a cook who hasn't quite got her bread-making down yet, this recipe came out beautifully for me, and my family was very impressed. I followed the directions exactly and made one ham, olive, pimento and cheese loaf, and one pepperoni and cheese loaf (which we dipped in pizza sauce). You could put any combination of your favorite meats, veggies, and cheeses inside, and it would still turn out delicious. Thank you, thank you, thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States