Ham and Cheese Picnic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
very good, and easy to carry! My husband and I often meet for lunch in a park near his office. This stays warm on the way over and is delicious with a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
The loaf shaping is easy: mound the filling in the middle third of the dough, then make cuts from the filling to the edges of the doug, making 3/4 inch wide strips. Alternating sides, fold the strips at an angle across the filling. The top of the loaf will look like a braid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
We don't like pimentos or olives, and I used cheddar cheese (cause that's what I had). The whole family loved it. Some dipped the slices in mustard, but no one thought it was bland...would love to try with lots of different filling options! Very quick and easy ... I kneaded the bread with my mixer attachment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I was in a hurry so I used frozen bread dough. The filling is tasty, though I think I'd change the pimentos to sun dried tomatoes packed in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Love it! I've made it with and without the olives (b/c I didn't have any the last time), and I think next time, I'll saute some red peppers and onions instead of using the jarred red peppers. Oh, and I use swiss or swiss and mozzarella combined instead of all mozzarella. It's in my book under "Favorite Ham Leftover Recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
It was alright, just very bland. I left out the olives and peppers because no-one in my family likes them. The dough was awfully hard to knead by hand... Very tacky and sticky. The bread was also pretty tasteless. Perhaps I added too much flour in the kneading process... I had no idea what the instructions were talking about when it came to shaping the dough, so I simply spread the filling in the middle of it and folded the ends over the filling. I'll try making this again, adding maybe another 1/2 tsp of sugar to the dough and omitting the egg. Probably will add oregano and finely chopping onion to the filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I subsituted the flour with a little wholemeal, otherwise followed exactly. But found the recipe bland..did not taste as good as it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Very nice, I made mine more like a pizza bread, with a little bit of tomato paste and substituted pepperoni for the ham. I folded the long edges over to enclose the filling because I could not make sense of the instructions for the cuts and then pulling diagonal ??? Thanks for a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Absolutely wonderful. Very quick and easy and my fiance couldn't stop talking about it. Please try this, you won't regret making this fun dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I made this for m ex-boyfriend to bring along on a cold winter camping trip. It's very filling and kept him going in the cold. And it's delicious! We're not together anymore but he still asks me to make it for him when he goes backpack hiking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States