Ham and Cheese Picnic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I've made this recipe as written and it's fabulously popular at pot lucks! Today however I had to change it up a bit due to lack of olives and pimentos (neither of which I'm crazy about anyway), but I did have a small jar of basic pesto. Let me tell you, this was just as yummy as any appetizer I've ever had in Italian restaurants. As it bakes, the olive oil from the pesto soaks the bottom of the loaf and let's it become a little crisp...Yumm! I do let my stand mixer do all of the kneading...not a big fan of the manual labor, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooks4forty
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This bread is wonderful! I changed up the filling a bit, but the bread and the idea are perfect! I took this to a day-long sports tournament and everyone was happy to get a warm sandwich slice to power their day. I even made it the night before (through assembly) then refrigerated it and baked it in the morning. I loved the bread, and you can do so many things with the filling. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Left out the peppers and olives for a more kid-friendly version. Kids LOVED it! I may have to double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Very yummy! I will be trying other fillings as options as well. All you have to do is take it to the party and slice it! I am not a big olive fan so I only put them on half of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Love this. Easy to make. I use pepperoni instead. I am thinking the next one will be with mushrooms too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I made it last night and it came out very good, in spite of all the mistakes I made. My yeast was expired(I only noticed afterwards) and I forgot to put butter, when making the dough!!!! The lack of butter made it kind of dry after a couple of hours, but it was delicious when it came out of the oven. I brushed with egg yolk before baking and followed some other reviewers advices. Thanks everybody for your input. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is a great picnic snack! I used a pre-made flaky dough that I bought from the grocery store and it was perfect. Because it was round, it made it more difficult to wrap the filling. If you can, reshape it to have square edges but don't feel you have to. Mine still looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Very tasty!!! My only change would be a bit of garlic or garlic powder to your liking and to roll the dough out a bit thinner - perhaps an inch wider on length and width. The bread/filling ratio was more in the favor of bread for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
this is my first time reviewing a recipe here and it definitely gets 5 stars! Don't let the idea of bread-from-scratch scare you; this recipe is straight forward and comes out beautifully. My children didn't believe that *I* made this, and my husband had 2 huge helpings. The dough itself is so versatile that I'm going to use it as my base recipe. The concept is brilliant and the stuffing can be any combo of things you want (from a calzone to a danish filling). Thanks so much for this recipe, and my family thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for our family picnic and it was a huge hit. After baking, I wrapped it in foil and it stayed warm for the whole trip to the park. Next time I will try it with pepperoni, mozzarella and pizza sauce...per my teenager's great idea and request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States