Ham and Cheese Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Wow! This was sooo easy and both of my boys (9 and 13) LOVED it! Next time I will add more ham, a couple more types of cheese and probably top with some chives and parm. Note:I didn't measure anything except the mayo, I just eyeballed the rest. Oh, and we really like a lot of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I found this very bland and dry. Will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I thought this recipe lacked something to bind it together, like a cream of something soup. Also, the cubed cheddar cheese melts unevenly and because there are bread crumbs on top you are unable to stir it to redistribute. The package of macaroni I used was just over 12 oz...any more than that would've been too much. I added some Knorr Garlic Pasta mix (if I had Ranch dressing mix I would've used that) to give it some flavor. My husband originally thought the bread crumbs on top was Parmesan cheese, which I thought was a good idea. My picky 15 year old son liked it and everyone said it was good and ate it, but it just wasn't great. I would try it again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We all eat with our eyes, and I was concerned that this was going to have zero eye appeal, so I added a little bit of color. I added some peas, chopped red bell pepper, some chopped green onions, and I think in the future a few sliced olives might add not only color but flavor. Our consensus was too much pasta, and not enough ham, but that could be a personal taste preference. I cooked the full amount of pasta, but once I started to mix this up, I didn't use all of it. This rating is based on the changes that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was very good! I also added some peas for a little color. I also had to add a little bit of milk to the mixture because I thought it looked dry. I wish it didn't need so much mayonnaise but it still turned out really good and it was quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
A simple mac and cheese recipe. I added peas to the casserole for some added flavor and color. I did not use anything even close to one cup of bread crumbs. I just sprinkled some on top. I think one cup would have been rather excessive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
The family loved this! I changed it a bit. I cooked 2 cups of pasta until firm. I mixed a 1/2 cup mayo and mixed in about 1 -1 1/2 tsp Sriracha hot sauce, 1 tsp dijon mustard, and garlic salt. When the pasta was done I poured in the mayo sauce along with 2 cups of Cheddar Cheese and montrey Jack cheese but that didn't look like enough so I added a half can of cheddar cheese soup. Then I mixed in 2 cups of ham. I carmalized 1/2 onion, 1 tsp garlic, and pepper and mixed that in with the cheese, mayo and macaroni mixture. Topped with more shredded cheese. Then I sprinkled on the lightly browned Italian bread crumbs. It was amazing and the family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by g5club

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chuluota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
One of my kids LOVED this! The other didn't, but they have very different taste in foods. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I purchased a pile of cheese on sale that needed to get cooked up. I also had left over frozen ham from a family event – so I was looking for a ham and cheese macaroni dish. This was the simplest. I boiled the left over ham – got all useable meat off of it then boiled the noodles in the ‘ham’ water (we had rotini). Added picked off bone bits of lean ham to the rotini and mixed. Instead of using mayonnaise (didn’t have any) I heated about 2/3 cup milk – melted the cubed cheese - used a whip utensil to blend– then added cornstarch mixed in water first I used 1 teaspoon, thickened a little more – it seemed to need more so added another teaspoon – it was thick and saucy. Mixed all ingredients in big bowl – put in a casserole dish – then it seemed the sauce was too thick, it looked a little dry. I did maybe a third to a half cup of milk – maybe 1 ½ oz. more cheese and a little more of the cornstarch and water – made a little more sauce a little wetter than the first batch – poured it over the casserole – had left over small amount of Monterey jack (no bread crumbson hand) – sprinkled it intermittently on the casserole – covered lightly with aluminum - baked at 325 about 30 minutes - turned out good! I baked at 325 as I also baked a cake that was needing 325 temp - both worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Quick and easy. You may want to lightly toast the breadcrumbs on the stove first then sprinkle over top and then bake......tastes so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States