Ham and Cheese Omelet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a simple way to get breakfast on the table fast. I agree with DREGINEK that it is just like a stove top omelet, but it worked better this way because I got up with the baby, before anyone else and while he was eating, I popped this in the oven & made potatoes. Thanks for an easy idea Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This took almost two hours to cook, It had no flavor to it. I even added chopped onion and chopped green chili's to it. The only thing my child ate of it was the ketchup he made me serve with it. It was a waste of eggs and ham, not to mention time. I started it at 4:45 in the oven it didn't get done until 6:20 I am very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I am always on the hunt for breakfast meals that can be easily frozen into individual portions, and reheated at work, and decided to give this a try. I enjoyed it, however, it didn't remind me of the traditional stuffed omelet. So I think next time what I'll do is add half the eggs to the bottom of the pan and bake for a few minutes to solidify the egg. Then add the "fillings" and bake a bit more, to melt the cheese around the loose ingredients, therefor creating a second layer. Then add the rest of the eggs and finish the cooking as normal. That way I can have mini, square, stuffed omelets to take with me! I ended up using 6 whole eggs and 4 egg whites, and used a 9x13-inch pan (and was able to get 8 good sized squares). 2 cups of ham is a little bit too much for my taste...I will probably only use 1 cup next time, and add other ingredients to make it a western omelet. Also, I used fat free cheddar, and upped the amount to about 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
We found this to be pretty good. I reduced the milk to 3/4c and added some crumbled cooked bacon and some minced green onions. It was tasty & fluffy and cooked in the time specified for us. However, in honesty, it isn't much different than an omelett cooked over the stove-top. But if you already have your handy full with other breakfast dishes, this one does come in handy! Thanks Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this for dinner last night, and my boyfriend and I loved it. However, unless you like things pretty bland, I would consider this a base recipe to be added to. I used sharp cheddar cheese and added some scallions. Next time I make it, I think I will add a little Pepper Jack cheese, some bell pepper and onion, and maybe even some diced tomatoes or salsa. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPolencheck
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Great recipe here! This was awesome to just pop in the oven while I prepared the other parts of our breakfast. My husband and father-in-law gobbled this up. I made it almost exactly as written, using slightly less ham, and sharp cheddar cheese. Baked for 50 minutes in a round souffle dish. The inside was light and fluffy. Make sure you really "froth" the eggs when you mix this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I thought this recipe was really tasty and so easy. Its a great way to use up left over ham. I will deff make it again. I used only half the eggs and milk, but used the full amount of ham and cheese..I also lined the bottom of the pan with seasoned crutons and added some diced onion to give it an added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Quick easy breakfast. Made this the night before, stuck it in the fridge. Pulled it out the next morning to bake, and voila...breakfast. Next time I'm gonna add bell peppers and mushrooms because we like those in our omelets. Good base though. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I made this recipe but divided it in half because only 2 people were eating it. It is great, my daughter went buts over it! Try adding a little tomato to the ham and cheese, mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very good and easy. Added sauteed mushrooms and green peppers and bacon,onion. Downsized recipe to serving for 3. Family liked it real well. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcell, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States